New commissioners at Malawi Electoral Commission take oath amid concerns

Newly appointed Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) take the oath of office Friday amid concerns that President Peter Mutharika has flouted procedure by appointing more ruling party officials in the pollster compared to the opposition.

Nkosi: In MEC

Nkosi: In MEC

Mutharika appointed four from Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), two from United Democratic Front (UDF), one from Malawi Congress Party (MCP) and one from Peoples Party.

DPP and UDF are in working political alliance both inside and outside parliament.

MCP publicist Jessie Kabwila described the appointment as DPP strategic plan to rig the 2019 election.

This fear was also echoed by Peoples Party spokesperson Ken Msonda.

He said Mutharika’s decision to appoint two officials from the opposition was ill intention.

Mutharika appointed Jean Mathanga, Moffat Banda, Ivy Mtafu, Rev Killion Mgawi, Rev  Clifford Baloyi, Mary Nkosi, Linda Kunje and Yahaya Mmadi.

Banda is chairman of MBC board of directors so too Mathanga is chairperson of Escom board of directors whilst Mgawi is over 80 years old.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post

More From the World

newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Kabwila and Msonda if you have discovered an anomaly what have you done to stop it? Do you just cry foul without taking drastic measures? If what you are claiming is true that DPP has appointed four Commissioners why not seek court intervention to stop the swearing- in ceremony till the matter is sorted out? What kind of politicians are you that keep on barking to seek public sympathy on a simple matter like this one? If you are unable to find a solution on this simple issue what then will you do when you are faced with tougher challenges… Read more »

Even you, it’s also your duty as a citizen


That’s just it!!! Talk talk talk,,silk sulk sulk, complain complain complain,,,, nothing will be done, no one will take this further, no one will be accountable, tomorrow it will be forgotten. Commissioners will rig again, we will start complaining again. It’s an irritating *cycle* really!


Tell me which ones are DPP, MCP, PP and UDF MEC commissioners. Don’t tell me that DPP has four, UDF has two while PP and MCP has one commissioner each. And you expect me to take that cheap propaganda? No way. Attach the names to their affiliated political parties. Of course I know you can’t do this because you know you are a pathological liar.


And you need someone to tell you yet it’s all clear from the names. Jean you are a fool probably from DPP

More From Nyasatimes