Airtel snubs Malawi Super League: To go ahead with Top 8 Cup

Reports reaching Nyasa Times have revealed that one of Malawi’s most innovative Mobile Phone Service Operators Airtel Malawi Limited will not take over sponsorship of the country’s flagship Super League following the withdraw of sponsorship by their market competitors Telekom Networks Malawi (TNM) Limited.

Airtel CEO Charles Kamoto: Airtel keen to develop Malawi football with Top 8 Cup

TNM dropped a ‘bombshell’ over about a week ago that it has fully withdrawn sponsorship that saw the end of a 10 year football romance with the top league administrators Super League of Malawi (Sulom) and there have been high speculations that Airtel will take advantage of their competitor’s exit to take over the mantle.

One of the reasons was that TNM was uncomfortable with a ruling by the Competition and Fair Trading Commission (CFTC) that some of the clauses in the agreement the company signed with Sulom are unfair to other traders.

A senior top official at Airtel Malawi said company’s main focus is only on the Airtel Top 8 Cup.

“We are currently gearing up for the cup’s action packed three months and will be communicating the kick off date soon. With  regards to football, our focus is on Top 8
Cup,”.Airtel Marketing Director Emmanuel Kasambara said.

With its superior service quality, Airtel entered into a three year partnership with Football Association of Malawi (FAM) which will see the giant mobile telecomunication company pumping over K198 Million within a period of three years.

The two parties already signed the agreement and the deal was sealed on 2nd March 2017.

The action packed competition which will be played under the theme ‘making football alive’ is expected to roll into action anytime soon according to Fam and the sponsors.

Participating teams will only be those that finish in the top eight of the flagship Super League at the end of every soccer season.

The 2017 edition will feature teams that finished in the top eight of the elite league last season and these are champions Kamuzu Barracks, Nyasa Big Bullets, Silver Strikers, Blue Eagles, Mafco FC, Azam Tigers, Mighty Be Forward Wanderers and Moyale Barracks.

The winner will cut home K15 Million while runners up will pocket K5 Million.

All the participating teams will also receive a starter pack of K1 Million each.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Malawi Womens Football team up 12 places  on Fifa ranking

The Malawi National Senior Womens Football Team has risen twelve places up from 124 to 112 on the latest Fifa...