Malawi activist criticises political patronage in appointment of boards

Human rights activist and lawyer, Justice Dzonzi has criticized the appointment of ruling party politicians in of statutory corporations, saying they are set to abuse public resources.

Malawi President Joyce Banda on Wednesday appointed board members to 14 more boards of statutory corporations two months after the appointments to 17 other boards.

The board members include technocrats, politicians, retired senior civil servants and traditional leaders.

But Dzonzi told Zodiak radio that he is concerned with ruling People’s Party (PP) operatives in the boards, saying politician “affect performance of the institutions” as they tend to “politicize public institutions.”

He said politicians tend to “abuse public resources” in favour of their political party.

The appointments, made through a statement signed by Chief Secretary to the Government Bright Msaka, are effective October 30.

According to The Nation, Brigadier Cosgrove Mituka (retired) has been appointed chairperson of Airport Development Limited whose members include three People’s Party (PP) senior members Ireen Chikuni (deputy secretary general), Samson Msosa (Eastern Province governor) and Peter Kaleso (administrative secretary).

Maulidi: Appointed board member of Escom

Other members are I.S Phesele, Clara Nora Munthali and Paramount Chief Chikulamayembe.

Morgan Tembo is the new chairperson of the Electricity Supply Corporation of Malawi (Escom) Board. Members of the Escom Board include Noah Chimpeni, Joseph Chikwemba and Paul Maulidi who are also PP officials. Other members are Dr. Edrine Kayambazinthu, Estelle Nuka and former Escom chief executive officer Overton Mandalasi.

Entrepreneur Jimmy Korea Mpatsa is chairing the Malawi Posts Corporation (MPC) board whereas Sheikh Dinala Chabulika, national coordinator of the Islamic Information Bureau, is chairperson for the National Library Service Board.

Lt. General Evaristo Kadzeya is chairperson of the National Gaming Board and Speaker of the Youth Parliament Dyson Maliro will chair the National Youth Council Board.

Former Kasungu South East MP Kizito Ngwembe, who is a PP regional governor for the Central Province, has been entrusted with the responsibility of chairing the Roads Authority (RA) Board while Dr. Grace Chiudzu will chair the Nurses and Midwives Council of Malawi Board.

National Bank of Malawi chief executive officer George Partridge will chair the Roads Fund Administration (RFA) Board and Henry Chipeta will chair the Pharmacies, Medicines and Poisons Board.

Former principal secretary Martin Mononga is chairperson of the Southern Region Water Board while the Reverend Davidson Chifungo and the Reverend Dr. Osborne Joda-Mbewe are chairpersons of the Small Medium Enterprise Development Institute and Teveta, respectively.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Malawi Rastas excited with Rita Marley, Garvey visit

The Rastafari community in the country is reeling with excitement with the news that Rita Marley, wife to late Reggae...