Malawi Queens release two squads for Africa Championship

Netball Association of Malawi (Nam) has released a list of 40 players that are expected to go into training camp Wednesday in Blantyre ahead of the Africa Netball Championship scheduled for June 24 to 29.

The list of players, who will start camping on Wednesday after the netball association changed from Monday, is for both the senior national team and developmental side which would feature in the championship to be hosted in Malawi’s commercial City of Blantyre.

There are no remarkable changes to the senior squad apart from the return of former skipper Grace Mwafulirwa-Mhango, who had been on maternity vacation.

The rest of senior players such as Caroline Ngwira, Towera Vinkhumbo, Bridget Kumwenda, Joanna Kachilika, Beatrice Kadango and Sindie Simtowe are also in the team.

Caro Bapu....Photo Jeromy Kadewere
Caro Bapu….Photo Jeromy Kadewere
Peace Chawinga-Kalua to head Malawi Queens
Peace Chawinga-Kalua to head Malawi Queens

The developmental side features blossoming players but the notable inclusion is Blue Eagles Sisters attacker Takondwa Lwazi, who was out for a while.

Nam General Secretary Carol Bapu is optimistic that the two teams would still do well despite starting camp late.

“We delayed to start camping because it would have been expensive to have both teams camping early,” she said.

“However this could work to our advantage because they will work hard to make the most of the time.”

The development comes after Nam named a new set of coaching panel that consists of Mary Waya, Peace Chawinga-Kalua- Connis Mhone and Sam Kanyenda while former acting coach Griffin Saenda is expected to act as the technical director.

Bapu also said they would assign the new coaches to their designated postions by close of business today.

“We are working on some fine details including the tenure of the deal. We are hiring the coaches on temporary basis. We want them to handle the African Netball Championship. Thereafter we will call for interviews to select the successful candidate,” she said.

The following is the list of players;

Senior Squad;

Defenders-Carolyn Ngwira,  Towela Vinkhumbo (Escom),  Grace Mwafulirwa-Mhango, Tigresses,Lauren Ngwira (Bingu Tigresses), Pilirani Msukwa, Joana Kachilika (MTL Queens), Jessie Chikaoka (Blue Eagles), Melenia Gideon, Khumbize Chazemba (Mafco) and Maggie Sikwese (Mzuzu).

Centres- Beatrice Kadango (Bingu Tigresses), Bridget Kumwenda, Enelesi Mdezo (Escom), Tina Kamzati(Civo).

Shooters-Sindi Simtowe (Bingu Tigresses), Jessie Mazengera (Escom), Joyce Mvula, Cecelia Mtukule (Blue Eagles), Jane Chimaliro (Civo), and Chikumbutso Banda (MTL Queens).

Under-21 squad

Alinafe Kamwala              (Escom), Mary Banya       (Blue Eagles), Memory Mwazani (MTL Queens), Chinasi Bande (Glass Bank), Aisha Ali (Civo), Maureen Munthali (Bingu Tigresses),            Deliwe Lungu (ABC), Happiness Soko, Hilda Chimtengo      (Lameck Queens), Oliness Beza (Mzuzu Sisters), Esther Chiwale (Chauka),  Mervis Kayange      (Blue Bird), Shira Dimba (Escom), Takondwa Lwazi (Blue Eagles), Martha Dambo,  Rianna Mtenje, Shirat Kaiche (MTL Queens), Beauty Nyasulu, Colleta Mwalilino (Civo) and Catherine Yikwanga (Bingu Tigresses).

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Thyolo villagers clash with Malawi Police: Three killed

A group of irate villagers in Thyolo district took the law into their own hands when they overpowered police officers...