Malawi’s  Lawi nominted for All Africa Music Awards: Davido tops list

Malawian artist, Lawi is among best male artists in Southern Africa nominated for this year’s All Africa Music Award (AFRIMA)  according to a list released on Wednesday in Lagos, Nigeria.

Lawi has been nominated for his truck titled ‘Whistle song”(one nomination).

Lawi: Nominated

Lawi: Nominated

Nigerian artist, Davido and South African musicians Mafikizolo and Uhuru received the highest number of nominations at the All Africa Music

Davido and Mafikizolo got six nominations each while Uhuru got five nominations.

Mi Casa (South Africa) and TemiDollFace (Nigeria) got four nominations each while Zahara (South Africa) and Wiyaala (Ghana) got three nominations each.

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania), Amr Diab (Egypt), Angelique Kidjo (Benin Republic), Tiwa Savage (Nigeria), Patoranking (Nigeria) and Noura Mint Seymale (Mauritania) all had two nominations each.

Other nominees were Fally Ipupa (DRC), Sakordie (Ghana) and Davina Green (Zimbabwe) who got one nomination each.

Nominees for the Producer of the Year were Don Jazzy (Nigeria) for the song ‘Eminado’; Robbie Malinga and Mojela Thebe (South Africa) for ‘Impilo’; Uhuru (South Africa) for ‘Tchelete’; Mikky Me (Nigeria) ‘Down’ and Del’B (Nigeria) for ‘Pull Over’.

Giving details of the criteria through which the nominees list emerged, a juror, Matlou Tsotetsi explained that the jury panel adhered strictly to the entry submission requirements and were transparent.

Thirty of the 32 award categories will be opened for voting by the public and AFRIMA Academy of Voters.

However, the AFRIMA Legend Award and the Africa Entertainment/Music Journalist Award will be decided by the International Committee of AFRIMA and announced at the main awards ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 9.

Mike Dada, the Executive Producer of the awards said that the AFRIMA voting online platform will open on Tuesday, Sept. 30 for the five-week voting process.

AFRIMA opened entries on May 15 and closed the submission of entries on July 21 and received 2,025 works for assessment.

The AFRIMA Jury, made up of seasoned African industry practitioners, were in Lagos, between July 31 to Aug. 6 for a week-long adjudication of entries from artistes, songwriters, video directors, producers as well as journalists.

The jury members included Oscar Kidjo (Benin Republic), Kawesa Richard (Uganda), Tabu Osusa (Kenya), Laolu Akintobi (Nigeria), Robert Esong Ekukole (Cameroon) and Kiki Toure (Equatorial Guinea).

Others were Delani Makhalima (Zimababwe), Chris Syren (South Africa), Angela Martins African Union Commission; Rab Bakari (USA) and Rita Ray (UK), Diaspora.

AFRIMA is partnering with the African Union Commission for this edition of the awards, which will hold on Nov. 9, to be preceded by the AFRIMA Music Village between Nov. 4 and 7.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post

More From the World

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted

Lawi, hear from me. You have great talent and you must narture it in the best way possible. Keep up! Try a live show one day in high class venues with good advertisement


Probably one of the finest musians Malawi have so far. The guys who takes music seriously with the likes of Peter Mawanga, Eric Paliani, Wambali Mkandawire, Ben Mankhamba and Chris Kele. Go on and have a feel of Chri Kele’s Music and feel his maturity in music> these guys makes me like Malawian music

Chikumbutso Bowa

Lawi Zili Boo

Chris Gamba

congrats Lawi

Mtumiki Woyamba

Big tings ah gwaan Lawi! Of course people wouldn’t like such news, anthu koma amafuna aziwona kuti “Lawi amumanga……” nde they would have flooded this section with vile comments. All the best man, you make Malawi proud.

Jah Guide.

Yamikan Dick

Yea passport inandidetsa khawa heavy!

More From Nyasatimes