Bagus, Mkandawire, Kasambara, Makande get PP top posts

In the second day of People’s Party (PP) convention, delegates continue to vote for positions in the National Governing Council which saw some founding member, Steve Mwenye trounced by newcomer on the position of publicity secretary.

Former United Democratic Front (UDF) deputy secretary general, Hophmally Makande  defeated Steven Mwenye for the position of publicity secretary.

Mwenye was  the spokesman  since PP’s formation while Makande joined the party earlier this year.

The deputy publicity directors elected were Ken Msonda and ministers  John Bande and  Catherine Gotani – all who joined PP lately.

PP treasurer general Harry Mkandawire and PP director of political affairs Anita Kalinde

Salim Bagus retained his position as National Organising Secretary . He will be deputised by Andy Chibwana and lawmaker Cornelius Mwalwanda.

Mzuzu-based wealth businessman Harry Mkandawire was elected treasurer general unopposed after challenger Steve Mijiga withdrew  from the race.

Mijiga said he allowed Mkandawire to go unopposed to allow the northern region get another key position in the party.

“I  wanted to help in distributing the positions equitably having seen that most posts were grabbed by people from the other regions,” he said.

Mijiga is now appointed Chief Presidential advisor and head of finance in PP.

Mkandawire will be assisted by deputy Health Minister Harima Daudi who floored Peter Kamange and Nowa Chimpeni—on the position of first deputy treasurer general while Mangochi South law maker Yusuf Matumula defeated Samuel Kaphuka and Ronald Chamthunya as second deputy treasurer general earlier on Monday.

President Joyce Banda’s special duties aide, Rev Malani Mtonga retained his position as PP religious director unopposed.

Others who went unopposed were ministers Ken Lipenga as Director of Economic Affairs and Ephraim Mganda Chiume as director of Research and Social Service.

Attorney General and Minister of Justice Ralph Kasambara who was president of Congress for Democrats, stunned his party members when he was elected director of legal affairs. He sailed through unopposed as his challenger Bazuka Mhango withdrew from the race.

Deputy legal directors elected included Henry Phoya and Chipiliro Mpinganjira.

Others who were elected included Zelesi Gomani as National Director of Elections. Ellis Kumpukwe for the position  of deputy director of International affairs.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Tay Grin, Theo rebuffed by African Unplugged organisers

Despite all the efforts made by Tay Grin and Theo Thomson to perform at the African Unplugged music festival in...