Bullets v Red Lions friendly rescheduled to Saturday

Bullets v Red Lions friendly rescheduled In readiness for the 2017 TNM Super League season, Nyasa Big Bullets date Red Lions at Kamuzu Stadium on Saturday (April 29) and not the following day, Sunday as previously announced.

Chigoga: Game changed to Saturday

The team’s General Secretary Albert Chigoga announced this Wednesday and asked the Bullets family to patronise the match en-masse to give the players full morale ahead of the new TNM Super League season.

“We want to go full throttle into the new season and we need to be fully prepared so that we can reclaim the title we lost by a whisker to Kamuzu Barracks last season,” Chigoga said.

The People’s Team open their campaign on road with two games — against debutantes Chitipa United at Mzuzu Stadium on Saturday May 6 and against Moyale at the same venue 24 hours later.

Moyale, who finished 7th last season, drew 0-0 against Bullets both in the first and second rounds. Chitipa United were promoted after emerging champions for the Northern Region Football League.

Nyasa Big Bullets were runners-up of the 2016 TNM Super League season after defending it for two consecutive seasons while Moyale finished 7th.

Bullets fought so tenaciously throughout last season’s second round after foundering in the first round.

They were on a good course when the league started when they played six games in which they won three and also drew three before they went on bye in June, paving way for the Flames’ assignments against Zimbabwe in the dead rubber Africa Cup of Nations and later the COSAFA Cup in Namibia.

For three weeks they were out of action because they could not be playing since they had contributed a bulk of their star players for national duty.

Nyasa Bullets resumed playing TNM Super League games on position 10 with 12 points and this status gave the People’s Team a huge catch up task up since the leaders were still being fixed with games despite having an advantage of more games played.

Bullets hold the record of having won the league title seven times in a row from 1999 to 2006 but stayed eight years in a row without winning it from 2006 to 2014 when TNM started sponsoring it.

So far only three teams have managed to retain the title and these are: Bullets (1991and 1992); the seven times in a row and in 2014 and 2015. Silver Strikers retained it three times in 1993 and 1994; 2008 and 2009-10, 2011-12 and 2012-13. For Wanderers, it was once in 1996-97 and 1997-98 seasons.

Mighty Wanderers are five-time champions (1990, 1995, 1996-97, 1997-98, 2006), Silver Strikers seven times (1993, 1994, 1995-96, 2008, 2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13), defunct Escom United two time (2007, 2010-11), disbanded MDC United once (1988), relegated Civo United once 1987) and Admarc Tigers (now Azam Tigers) also once (1989).

Bullets’ Chiukepo Msowoya was the club’s top scorer with 17 goals, just two short of the league’s top scorer with 19 goals, Mafco’s Richard Mbulu.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Stephano Joseph
Stephano Joseph
5 years ago

Let the games begin

Read previous post:
Malawi President warns corrupt Cabinet ministers: Chazama sworn-in to replace fired Kaliati

President Peter Mutharika has fired warning shots to corrupt cabinet mnisters, telling them he would never shield them. His warning comes...