Carlsberg Cup sponsorship hike announced: Now K30m

The 2014 Carlsberg Cup is being sponsored by Carlsberg Malawi to the tune of K30 million from K20 million last season, the sponsors Carlsberg Malawi Ltd announced on Friday .

The revelation was made by the Company’s senior brands manager for alcoholics Twikale Chirwa during a press briefing at Chiwembe Technical Centre in Blantyre.

Chirwa said  the 2014  edition of the Carlsberg Cup will be participated by the 15 Super League teams and all Premier Division teams from the three regional leagues namely SRFL, LDFL and MDFL and four Division one teams from each Regional League.

Tikwale Chirwa briefing tjournaloist on DJs Battle competition....Photo Jeromy Kadewere
Tikwale Chirwa: Carlsberg the way to go…Photo Jeromy Kadewere

Registration will be conducted between 25th April and 8th May with the registration fees for Regional Leagues teams being at  K10,000.00 while Super League teams will play K 20 000 as registration fees.


The competition will be played in two phases with all games being  played on knockout basis.

There will be no extra time or replays and games will go straight to penalties in case of draws.

Phase one of the tournament will involve teams from the three Regional Leagues with the 20 Premier League teams and four top Division One teams from each region as of last season standings will qualify for the regional phase preliminary round.

This means each Region will have 24 teams who will play three rounds of matches to produce three teams each that will qualify for the National Phase.

The Regional Preliminary round will start on 13th May and end on 8th June 2014.

Phase two of the tournament will have nine teams from the regional leagues with then join the 15 Super league teams for the national draw which will take place on Monday 9th June 2014

Top eight teams from last season’s TNM Super league standings, Silver Strikers, Moyale, Mafco, Kamuzu Barracks, Blue Eagles, Mighty Wanderers, Red Lions and Big Bullets will be seeded for the National phase preliminary round.

The remaining seven Super League teams, Azam Tigers, Civo, Epac, Blantyre United, Chikhwawa United, Airborne Rangers and Karonga United will join the nine regional league teams to make the national phase preliminary round of 16 which will be played between 13th and 17th July 2011.

The eight winning teams from that round will then join the seeded eight Super League teams for the
National phase round of 16 to be played between 20th and 25th July 2014.

Quarterfinals will be played between 27th June and 1st July 2014 with the  Semifinals to  be played on 12th and 13th July and final on 27th July 2014.

Since the sponsorship package has increased this year the prize breakdown has changed as follows:

• Champions: K9 million from K7 million
• Runners up : K4 million from K3 million
• Semifinalists: K800,000.00 from K 500,000.00
• Quarterfinalists: K400,000.00 from nothing
• Round of 16: K100,000.00.00 from nothing
• Top Goal scorer: K 100 000
• Carlsberg Discovery of the K 100 000.
• Man of the match award

An award of K 10 000 will be given to each man of the match in seven games from the quarterfinals to
the final.

The sponsors will also dress the teams from the quarterfinals.

Media Awards
• Best Print and Electronic: K 100 000 each

Past Winners
2013: Kamuzu Barracks
2012: Blue Eagles
2003: Null and void
2002: Total Big Bullets
2001: Moyale Barracks
2000: Telkom Wanderers

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Mafco a threat to our title defence- Silver

Defending TNM Super League champions Silver Strikers have come out in the open to confess that Mafco are a major...