Carlsberg Malawi pledges to continue Copa Coca-Cola schools tourney: Cwed 2013 champs

Carlsberg Malawi has pledged to continue sponsoring Copa Coca-Cola national schools football tournament.

Marketing Manager Gwynth Mchiela said on Sunday during a reception held at Mzuzu Hotel that the company was impressed with the impact that the competition has had on the development of players in the country for the past 45 years.

“Carlsberg Malawi, through brand Coca-Cola, has been sponsoring grassroots level football for the past 45 years,” Mchiela said.

“Coca-Cola has helped the country nurture the talent and develop it,” Mchiela said.

Cwed the championd of 2013 Copa Coca-Cola trophy
Cwed the championd of 2013 Copa Coca-Cola trophy

She said Copa Coca-Cola was launched in 2010 to unearth talent in football through ‘A billion reasons to believe in Africa, campaign’.

She also applauded Malawi Schools Sports Association (Massa) for running the competition in a professional manner.

“Working with Massa is worthwhile as teachers have the passion in progressing the talent,” she said.

“I would like to commend the teams for their good behaviour since the tournament was launched in May particularly the past three days.”

Minister of Sports and Youth Development Enoch Chihana said the company had been helping to develop sports in the country.

“Coca-Cola is fulfilling the expected and required social obligation of helping government to fulfill its objectives of developing sports in the country through sponsoring schools sports,” Chihana said.

“We need serious and committed sponsors like Coca-Cola to come forward and sponsor a wide range of sports disciplines in schools.”

He also said most football stars in the country trace their background through Copa Coca-Cola.

“Football development and the successes achieved cannot go without mentioning Coca-cola. The stars of yesterday and today all graduated from Coca-Cola schools challenge.”

Central West  Division (Cwed)won the champion and received K400,000, runners-up South East got K200,000, third placed Northern Division pocketed K150,000, South West K120,000, Central East, K100,000 and Shire Highlands K80,000.

Mike Mkwate of Swed was named player of the tournament and got K20,000, best goalkeeper Bright Munthali received K15,000, joint top goal-scorer Juma Yatina of Cwed and Mphatso Mlauzi of Ned shared 15,000.

Yatina and Mlauzi scored three goals each.

Chihana presents the Coca-Cola trophy
Chihana presents the Coca-Cola trophy
Sports Minister Chihana greeting the players
Sports Minister Chihana greeting the players
South West Division, the runners -up
South West Division, the runners -up

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Peter Mutharika addressing a DPP rally

Peter Mutharika addressing a DPP rally