DPP ‘vigourously’ pursues Section 65: Submit fresh petition

The former governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) is sticking to its guns to “vigorously pursue” all Member of Parliament (MP) who won on its ticket but sits with government in the House.

DPP spokesman Nicholous Dausi confirmed to Nyasa Times that indeed the party has submitted a fresh petition to Speaker Henry Chimunthu Banda, asking him to declare six more seats vacant, for crossing the floor after joining the ruling People’s Party (PP).

“We want the law to be respected and we are not taking issues of Section 65 lying down. Every MP who has crossed the floor will be hunted by the law,” said Dausi.

“DPP seeks to put to an end the culture of peripatetic MPs without seeking fresh mandate,” said Dausi.

Dausi: DPP goes after peripatetic MPs

Published reports quoted leader of DPP in Parliament Dr. George Chaponda saying more MPs will continue to be pursued until everyone who won on the party ticket and defected loses their seat.

“The DPP will vigorously pursue all those that run and won on our ticket,” said Chaponda, according to The Nation. “Those who won as independent and later joined the DPP aren’t affected.”

The report indicated that the DPP had 112 seats, Malawi Congress Party (MCP) won 28, United Democratic Front (UDF) claimed 17 seats, and Aford has two, while defunct Maravi and Mafunde won a seat each.

Independents had the second largest number of seats at 32. The majority of independents joined the then ruling DPP, swelling its figure in Parliament to 145.

Chaponda told the paper that the returnees “are being removed from the list [of those whose seats have been targeted].”

Speaker Chimunthu Banda has confirmed the fresh petition from DPP.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
‘Don’t bribe us for bail, its free’ – Police

In an effort to enhance its public image, the Malawi Police Service has appealed to members of the general public...