Fischer recalled to Malawi squad: Silver players dominate

Flames caretaker coach Eding’ton Ng’onamo has released a 25-member locally based squad scheduled to go into camp on Monday 4th March at Chiwembe Technical Centre in the commercial city of Malawi, Blantyre in readiness of Namibia Match which is expected to be played at the National Stadium in Windhoek on 23rd March 2013.

In the squad, which has three goalkeepers, six defenders, ten midfielders and six strikers, Ng’onamo has selected seven players from Big Bullets and Silver Strikers respectively.

Some of the notable names which he has included from The People’s Team are Fischer ‘Jahman’ Kondowe, who was not in good terms with former Flames mentor Kinnah Phiri on disciplinary grounds.

Big Bullets wonderboy, Gabadihno Mhango alongside Sankhani Nyirenda, George Nyirenda, Chimango Kayira, Owen Chaima and Douglas ‘Section 65’ Chirambo have made it into the squad.

Fischer Kondowe : Earns Malawi team recall
Fischer Kondowe : Earns Malawi team recall

From 2012-2013 Champions, Ng’onamo has drafted in Lucky Malata for the first time into the squad, versatile midfielder Harvey Mkacha, Charles Swini, Frank Banda, Chimodzi Junior Rodrick Gonani and Ndaziona Chatsalira.

Ng’onamo has also called three players from Mighty Wanderers namely Foster ‘Zagaf’ Namwera, Richard Chipuwa and Bongani Kaipa.

Surprisingly, missing from the Nomads camp is their lion-heartened left back Francis Mlimbika, who has instrumental in the just ended soccer season.

Other players, who have made it into the squad are Blue Eagles  slippery midfielder Mecium Mhone, Patrick Gunde from Civo United, Ishamel Thindwa and Gastin Simkonda.

Making into the squad for the first time are the trio of Red Lions hit-man Boniface Kaulesi, Azam Tigers Moses Nankumba and Victor Limbani for Blantyre United.

According to Football Association of Malawi, the team will be coached  by an interim technical panel headed by Eddington Ng’onamo and assisted by Patrick Mabedi and Ernest Mtawali.

Charles Manda will be the Team Manager while Captain Kondwani Chipanda will be the Team Doctor.


Goal Keepers

1. Charles Swini – Silver Strikers

2. Owen Chaima – Big Bullets

3. Richard Chipuwa – Mighty Wanderers


4. John Lanjesi – CIVO United

5. Wongani Kaipa – Wanderers

6. Foster Namwera – Mighty Wanderers

7. Sankhani Mkandawire – Big Bullets

8. George Nyirenda – Big Bullets

9. Lucky Malata – Silver Strikers


10. Chimango Kayira – Big Bullets

11. Frank Banda – Silver Strikers

12. Patrick Gunde – CIVO United

13. Young Chimodzi Jnr – Silver Strikers

14. Victor Limbani – Blantyre United

15. Ndaziona Chatsalira – Silver Strikers

16. Douglas Chirambo – Big Bullets

17. Miciam Mhone – Blue Eagles

18. Fisher Kondowe – Big Bullets


19. Ishmael Thindwa – EPAC United

20. Gabadhino Mhango – Big Bullets

21. Gastin Simkonda – Moyale Barracks

22. Boniface Kaulesi – Red Lions

23. Harvey Mkacha – Silver Strikers

24. Rodrick Gonani – Silver Strikers

25. Moses Nankumba – AZAM Tigers

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
‘God is Malawian’ says Catholic priest at Martyr’s Day event

Rev. Sam Ng’oma of the Catholic Church has said God is Malawian. He made his observations during this year’s 3rdMarch...