Hosts Gabon, holders Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Algeria top seeds for Afcon 2017

The draw for the Total Africa Cup of Nations to be held in Gabon in January 2017 will be held on October 2016 in Libreville, Gabon and the hosts Gabon, holders Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Algeria have emerged top seeds for the draw.afcon-2017

The Organising Committee of the Africa Cup of Nations approved the seedings  at its meeting on Monday at the Confederation of African Football (Caf) headquarters in Cairo, Egypt taking into account the performance of the qualified teams during the following competitions — the Afcon final tournaments of 2012, 2013, 2015, Afcon qualifiers of 2013, 2015, 2017, the FIFA World Cup finals of 2014 and the FIFA World Cup qualifiers of 2014.

According to Caf media channel, the formula adopted for each of the Afcon final tournament was eight points for the winner, six for runner-up, four for semi-finalists, three for quarter-finalists, two for third in the group and one for fourth in the group.

It was also decided to give more importance to the recent editions of the Afcon; 2015 multiplied by a co-efficient of 3, 2013 by 2 and 1 for 2012.

At the draw, there will be four pots in which Pot 1 will have Gabon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Algeria; Pot 2 to have Tunisia, Mali, Burkina Faso, DR Congo; Pot 3 to have Cameroon, Senegal, Morocco, Egypt and Pot 4: Togo, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau.

Meanwhile, only Zimbabwe will represent Confederation of Southern Football Association  (Cosafa) at the 2017 Afcon edition to be held from14 January to 5 February in the Gabonese cities of Libreville, Franceville, Oyem-Bitam and Port-Gentil.

Zimbabwe were in group L together with Guinea and fellow Cosafa members, Swaziland and Malawi.

The other Cosafa members who have failed to qualify are 2012 Nations Cup winners Zambia, Angola, Madagascar, Botswana, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Lesotho, Namibia and South Africa.

South Africa were champions in 1996 when they hosted but since then they have failed to re-claim the title despite hosting the event again in 2013.

Nigeria, champions in 2013 finals in South Africa, will not be participating in this edition.

The 2015 losing finalists Ghana against Cote d’Ivoire have also qualified.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Group not happy with bully Athletics Association of Malawi 

Concerned Athletics Group led by Tauka Athletics Club has expressed concern over the way Athletics Association of Malawi (AAM) is...