Independent candidate refuses to withdraw: Mzimba bye-lections

Independent candidate in the by-elections in Mzimba Central which will take place on October 9 this year has snubbed ruling People’s Party (PP) request to have him withdraw from the race.

Joseph Mabvuto Kachali was initially a PP member but decided to run on an independent ticket after protesting that the primary elections which selected Aram Mdala Wedson Beza as PP candidate was a “charade.”

Kachali said PP officials have been enticing him to withdraw from the race.

Zikhale: Denies approaching independent candidate

PP officials argue that Kachali would split the PP vote. But the independent candidate said he will not withdraw.

“I have been approached by PP top members asking me to withdraw from the race. I am running come October 9,” said Kachali.

He also claimed PP has been “intimidating” him to withdraw from the race.

According to Kachale, PP team lead by deputy campaign director Ken Zikhale Ng’oma, northern region governor Reverend Brown Soko, met him at Mame Motel to ask him to withdraw from the race.

He also said another group of PP official met him at Ntende school ground where he was addressing a campaign meeting, asking him to support the ruling party candidate.

But Zikhale said Kachali was “lying”.

He said PP is confident of winning the bye-elections in Mzimba.

“We are winning the seats in Mzimba,” said Zikhale.

The by-elections will take place in Mzimba Central Constituency in northern Malawi following the death of its parliamentarian, Professor Donton Mkandawire, and in Mzimba South West Constituency, whose MP, Khumbo Kachali, was appointed the country’s Vice-President.

Six candidates are contesting in Mzimba Central. They are Aram Mdala Wedson Beza (People’s Party), Joseph Mabvuto Kachali (independent), Dennis Kandodo Mvula (independent), Owen Mkandawire (Democratic Progressive Party), Bonfancio VVK Chidumayo Ngulube (New Rainbow Coalition) and Enita W Njolwa (Alliance for Democracy).

In Mzimba South West, four candidates namely Leonard Chavula (DPP), Baxter Revival Mazunda (independent), Raymond Chatima Nkhata (PP) and James Nthara (independent) are contesting.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Malawi leader JB, UN chief hold talks in New York

Malawian President Mrs. Joyce Banda on Sunday, September 23, 2012 held a bilateral meeting with Ban Ki-moon, the Secretary General...