Judiciary calls for patience over midnight order as High Court reviews

Officials from the Judiciary are calling for patience and calm as a High Court judge is reviewing circumstances which led to a Zomba magistrate court to cancel a warrant of arrest for finance services business tycoon Thomson Mpinganjira.

Registrar of the Malawi Supreme Court of Appeal and the High Court of Malawi Agnes Patemba

The principal magistrate for Zomba, Benedicto Chitsakamile cancelled a warrant of arrest for Mpinganjira on Wednesday midnight, triggering an outcry and questions of bribery in the Judiciary.

This prompted the Judiciary to ask for a court file on the case to review the cancellation which was done illegally.

High Court spokesperson Agnes Patemba said the judge Dorothy Nyakaunda Kamanga was still reviewing the court file.

“We have not heard anything from her office. She is still reviewing the case,” said Patemba.

Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB) director general Reyneck Matemba said he is still waiting for the outcome of the review exercise for him to take another court action on the matter.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Follow us in Twitter
21 Comments
newest
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jose
Jose
9 months ago

Basewerani ndi Dziko.My question is for how long?.

mutharika
mutharika
9 months ago

you guys just shut up matemba akugwila nchito yake nde zisakale ngati kuti akumuonelela mpinganjira amumange kumene , this young man matemba has some brians

No Chill Malawi
No Chill Malawi
9 months ago

Next time you arrest Mpinganjira, give him no bail. The man has pawns everywhere. Judges, magistrates, IG of police-mwapasa, ministers and Mutharika.
He is a serious flight risk or can mess with evidence

Chineke
Chineke
9 months ago

There’s no justice in Malawi, God please intervene we need you now more than ever 😢

Malawi belong to the citizens.

We the citizens, we are hoping that Dorothy Nyakaunda Kamanga will judge with the guidance of God, Zomba magistrate judge was wrong to stop the arrest of the rich Man. I believe that Mr Thom Mpinganjira will be arrested again to make it twice within a short period of time. We love politics that helps the citizens to prosper osati kumawasaukitsa. Malawi ndi wathu wathu. Remember to keep the peace.

Lowalowa
Lowalowa
9 months ago

But why is he not arresting Chilima, Mia, Simbi etc?

Muruti
Muruti
9 months ago

this mpinganjira guy let free to public let alone the public itself lay hands on him & the mob remit its own justice system on him

Nzika
Nzika
9 months ago

I am so disappointed with Thomson Mpinganjira and i’m planning to close my bank account at FDH!

Ndendeuli
Ndendeuli
9 months ago
Reply to  Nzika

Account yake kuli 2 Kwacha ija?

GPMG
GPMG
9 months ago

How do you review something that is clearly wrong? A magistrate cannot cancel a warrant issued by another magistrate; only the magistrate who issued the warrant or a high court judge can cancel that warrant. The Zomba cancellation should have been declared null and void immediately. Is the judiciary re-writing the Law?

Peter T
Peter T
9 months ago

Hi malawians. We must open our eyes on this matter something is fishing and don’t let this Evil woman Agnes patemba to drive us left and right.

Jerusalem Bible College
Jerusalem Bible College
9 months ago
Reply to  Peter T

How evil is she?

LGBT PROPER GANDA
9 months ago

Inde tikutitu mu democrassy zimakomela andalama.Kuli Bushi, Bulea ndi Netanyahu amenewa amayenela kukafunsidwa ku ICC,koma izo zikungodyelela

shares
Read previous post:
Chakwera urges Malawians to accept election case ruling ‘and uphold it’

Malawi Congress Party (MCP) leader and presidential hopeful Lazarus Chakwera has urged Malawians to respect and elections case ruling due...

Close