Malawi Carlsberg Cup re-launched, 2015 format unveiled: Eight top teams to be seeded

Carlsberg Malawi has given Football Association of Malawi a boost after announcing that it will sponsor the cup this year after the three-year contract ended last year.

Carlsberg Cup back...Photo Jeromy Kadewere
Carlsberg Cup back…Photo Jeromy Kadewere
FAM's Sugzo Nyirenda and Carlsberg Malawi Tikwale Chirwas sign the contract....Photo Jeromy Kadewere
FAM’s Sugzo Nyirenda and Carlsberg Malawi Tikwale Chirwas sign the contract….Photo Jeromy Kadewere

Addressing a new conference at Chiwembe Technical and Development Centre said the cup was unique in promoting the game of football as the competition accommodates teams from the grassroots level.

He said despite that the sponsorship would remain at K30 million they would make the cup exciting.

“We have been sponsoring the Carlsberg Cup for the past three years and it gives the management of Carlsberg Malawi Breweries pleasure to announce that this year we will be back after signing a contract extension as you the contract was for three years,” Chirwa said.

He said the team would ensure that it would continue offering customised jerseys to the teams from the semifinals.

Fam General Secretary Suzgo Nyirenda in said the development was a sigh of relief to the association as they were panicking over Carlsberg’s commitment.

“The contract expired last year after three years. So it was not automatic that they would come back again. In fact it was only three week ago that we were assured of the sponsorship,” Nyirenda said.

Bullets FC are the defending champions after beating Zomba United 2-0 who were in Malawi’s second league tier.

Meanwhile, the Carlsberg Cup will be participated by the 15 Super League teams and 36 Premier Division teams from the three regional leagues namely SRFL, CRFL and NRFL.

The competition will be played in two phases. All games will be played on knockout basis. There will be no extra time or replays and games will go straight to penalties in case of draws.

Phase One

This phase will involve 36 teams from the three Regional Leagues Premier Division with each region registering 12 top from last season log tables as follows:

South: Number 2 up to Number 12 plus Blantyre United

Central: Number 2 up to number 13.

North: Number 2 up to number 12 plus Karonga United.

First round: All the 12 teams will go into a pot and draw six fixtures to produce six winners for the second round.

Second round: The six first round winners will go into a pot for a draw of three fixtures to produce three winners that will qualify for the national stage.

Phase Two

The nine teams from the regional leagues with then join the 15 Super league teams for the national draw which will take place on 23rd June.

Top eight teams from last season’s TNM Super league standings Big Bullets FC, Moyale FC, Mafco, Blue Eagles, Silver Strikers, Civo, Azam Tigers and Red Lions will be seeded for the National phase preliminary round.

The remaining seven Super League teams, Mighty Wanderers, Kamuzu Barracks, Epac FC, Airborne Rangers, Surestream FC, Dedza Young Soccer and Mzuni will join the nine regional league teams to make the national phase preliminary round of 16 which will be played between 30th June and 12th July 2015.

The eight winning teams from that round will then join the seeded eight Super League teams for the National phase round of 16 to be played between 18th and 26th July 2015.

Quarterfinals will be played between 1st and 2nd August with Semifinals set for weekends between 15th 23rd August.

The final will be on 29th August 2015.

PRIZES (All in Malawi Kwacha)
Winner 9,000,000.00
Runners-up 4,000,000.00
Semi-Finalists 500,000.00 each
Quarter Finalists 300,000.00 each

Individual Prizes
Top Goal Scorer 100,000.00
Man of the Match 10,000.00 each from the quarterfinals
Discovery of the tournament 100,000.00
Best Print Media 100,000.00
Electronic Media 100,000.00

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
change goal
change goal
8 years ago

The cup is worth 30 m but winning teams will get about 14 m 16 m for administration hahahaaha that’s football will not develop in malawi but administrators will get rich

Mzimba Solola
Mzimba Solola
8 years ago

@ No. 4 have you forgotten that wamkulu wina masapota ake had to go to Standard bank kukamuvotera kuti achite participate mu Standard Bank Cup? Linda madzi apite ndiye udziti ndadala.

Thubu Mgoloso
Thubu Mgoloso
8 years ago

May i know the difference between online and electronic medias

Pata phiri
Pata phiri
8 years ago

Only mk30 mili carsberg u pay
To MRA mk5 billionaire n taxes
Waste of time

amnzeru aku mmawa
amnzeru aku mmawa
8 years ago

Manoma, taonani komwe mukuyambila. Kuyamba ndi ana amnzanu. Achita bwino, muzikaomba galimoto za dongo eti! Lu lu lu, lu lu lu! Gona mwana. Osalira eti!

Chisiru Cha Njanji
Chisiru Cha Njanji
8 years ago

Why leave out online media in the media awards? A Suzgo Nyirenda ndi a Twikale Chirwa tachangamukani. Embrace new technology as your friends at Standard Bank, TNM and others have done. Anzanu ali mu Digital era inu mudakali mu Analogue. Online media panopa yadya moto. Just check how the daily paper sales have dwindled. Kapena kukaya new technology sinafike?

Kondwani kapyola
8 years ago

Yah its a good tym for all teams to prepare well

8 years ago

Good news

Read previous post:
Mutharika says National Service to give Malawi youth military training

Malawi President Peter Mutharika has disclosed plans by his government to establish a National Service -similar to the defunct Malawi...