Malawi Electoral Commission launches by-elections

The Malawi Electoral Commission says it will launch the electoral calendar for the by-elections in the country’s two constituencies and five wards on Monday August 25.

The constituencies are Thyolo East which fell vacant after its parliamentary candidate Peter Mutharika won the seat of the president, and Blantyre North where its candidate died prior to the elections.

Mwafulirwa:  By-elections

Mwafulirwa: By-elections

The wards are; Lisanjala in Machinga Likwenu Constituency, Kandeu in Ntcheu North East Constituency, Lifupa,  in Kasungu West Constituency , Mbalachanda  in Mzimba Central Constituency  and Zgeba in Karonga-Nyungwe Constituency.

MEC’s spokesperson Sangwani Mwafulirwa says in a statement that the launch will be marked with meetings with stakeholders in these areas.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post
newest oldest most voted
Notify of

More From Nyasatimes

More From web