Malawi ex-Sports Minister retains Parliamentary seat: Dossi, Vuwa , Zingale lose

Minister of Sports Enock Chihana has retained Parliamentary seat in Rumphi East constituency under the party he leads, the Alliance for Democracy (Aford) in Malawi’s Tripartite Elections.

Chihana, who formed an electoral alliance with the governing People’s Party, is probably the only sports figure to survive.

He will be joined by new faces from sports with Malawi Olympic Committee (MOC) General Secretary Jappie Mhango and former Basketball Association of Malawi (Basmal) General Secretary Roy Kachale Banda won.

Aford president Enock Chihana and his wife
Aford president Enock Chihana and his wife

Mhango won in Rumphi on an independent ticket while Kachale Banda, son to incumbent Malawi President Joyce Banda triumphed in Zomba under the banner of PP.

However, former Ministers of Sports Moses Dossi and Symon Vuwa Kaunda, former Football Association of Malawi (FAM) Presidents Sameer Suleman and John Zingale also failed in the elections.

Dossi contested for United Democratic Front (UDF) failed in Chikhwawa, Vuwa Kaunda representing Democratic Progressive Party (DDP) lost in Nkhata Bay, Suleman under PP lost in Blantyre and Zingale, who also contested on PP ticket, failed to retain the seat in his constituency in Chikhwawa.

Former Chess Association of Malawi (Chessam) President Kezzie Msukwa failed to reclaim his seat in Chitipa just as former MOC President Jerome Waluza who lost in Mchinji.

Former Fifa referee and Director of Sports Bester Kalombo also lost in Chikhwawa, boxing promoter Justice Katika lost in Blantyre South just as former Southern Region Football League General Lyson Gowa Banda who was defeated in Salima.

Another notable sports figure Boniface Maganga lost in Blantyre South East Constituency Chigumula Ward in Local Government Elections and former Mighty Wanderers football player Semu Matemba also lost in Parliamentary Elections in Chikhwawa.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Mutharika calls for calm as Malawi awaits election outcome

Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) president Peter Mutharika has expressed confidence that he will be declared winner of the Tuesday’s elections...