Malawi law expert Kanyongolo awarded Lifetime Achiever at media gala

University of Malawi’s Constitutional Law expert, Edge Kanyongolo, on Saturday evening received the highest media honour, Lifetime Achiever, for his contribution towards the development of media in the country.

Kanyongolo received the accolade during the 2014 Media Institute of Southern Africa (Malawi Chapter) World Press Freedom Galaat Sunbird Capital in Lilongwe,.

He was recognised as a true partner of the media and  a “ person who is always available with information” according to chief judge Dr. Francis Chikunkhuzeni.

Kanyongolo: Honoured
Kanyongolo: Honoured

The media friendly law expert described the award as “a great honour.”

During the gala, Zodiak Broadcasting Station (ZBS) and Nation Publications Limited (NPL), publishers of The Nation, Weekend Nation, Nation on Sunday and Fuko emerged as the best media houses in the electronic and print media categories for 2014.

Nation journalist Caroline Somanje, Nation on Sunday editor Ephraim Munthali, Bobby Kabango and Watipaso Mzungu got awards in Maternal Mortality, Global Partnership and Development, Chichewa journalist of the year, Human Rights journalist of the year.

Munthali also emerged Print Media Investigative journalist of the year whereas Mercy Simbi was awarded as Talk Show host of the Year.

Dedza-based ZBS reporter Chikondi Mphande was awarded for her electronic story under Hunger and Poverty category. Other ZBS journalists that smiled were Noel Mkubwi (Universal Primary Education), Winstone Mwale (Gender Equality and Women’s Empowerment), Grace Khombe (HIV and Aids), Rodrick Sinoya (Malaria and Tuberculosis, Maternal Mortality), Tiyamike Phiri (Global Partnerships for Development), Tereza Ndanga (Investigative Journalism) and Gloria Masanza (Business and Economic Reporting).

alawi News Agency (Mana) journalist Anastazio Mpumulo scooped two awards in Hunger and Poverty, and Universal Primary Education categories.

Rabecca Chimjeka and Evelyn Pangani, both from Joy Radio, were awarded for outstanding reporting in Child Mortality and Maternal Health respectively.

Times  journalist Joy Ndovi scooped Sports journalist of the year, Theresa Chapulapula and Mathews Kasanda (Education journalist of the year) while Jacob Nankhonya emerged overall winner for the photograph he took at New Parliament building in which Parliament security officer beat  photojournalist Thoko Chikondi. Chapulapula of Times  also got best ICT journalist of the year award.

Gregory Gondwe of Times became 2013 Blogger of the year while Madalitso Mussa was picked best columnist with his  Tales of Time column.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Mutharika impressed with central region support

Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) president Peter Mutharika on Sunday said his party has proved its critics wrong that it only commands support...