Malawi TNM  Super League awards put for public vote

Super League of Malawi (Sulom) has announced that football fans should vote through SMSs for individual awards in the TNM Super League expected to be presented on Friday in College of Medicine Sports Complex in Blantyre.

Sulom Treasurer Tiya Somba: Public to vote
Sulom Treasurer Tiya Somba: Public to vote

Sulom Treasurer  Tiya Somba Banda said the cost of the SMSs to be send through the TNM mobile number 0881428222 to choose players of their choice in best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, technical team, player of the season.

However, the decision has drawn mixed reaction as it would favour teams with more supporters such as Big Bullets and Mighty Be Forward Wanderers.

Former FAM Acting President Sunduzwayo Madise said the format would prone to manipulation and would give other players undue advantage to win.

“From where I stand I take it that the names floated by Sulom are nominees who stand equal chances of winning. In any case the ultimate winners will have to be voted for by technical panel duly constituted and recognised by Sulom  and its affiliates,” Madise said.

“The potential risk with this approach is that it is prone to collaborative voting. Thus to say it is more likely for the candidate with more popular team to win than those from less popular team. This means that at this stage the only merit is popularity of candidate and their teams. So you can as well precisely predict the winners.”

Blantyre Newspapers Limited Sports Editor Duncan Mlanjira said all the nominees deserve to win.

“ I think this approach is not fair because fans might vote for their players. I know that the nominees deserve the awards but what if they all come one team? Am also thinking aloud,” Mlanjira said.

The nominees for these five categories are as follows:
Best Goalkeeper :- Vincent Gona, McDonald Harawa, Blessings Kameza Richard Chipuwa

 Best Defender: – Francis Mulimbika, Yamikani Fodya, Sankhani Mkandawire and  Emmanuel Zoya

Best Midfielder : – Fischer Kondowe, Henry Kabichi, Phillip Masiy,   Mike Kaziputa and Dalitso Sailesi

Best Technical Panel:: –  Big Bullets, Moyale Barracks FC       Silver Strikers,  Azam Tigers

  Player of The Season : –  Fischer Kondowe, Gastin Simkonda and McDonald Harawa.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kennedy lackson
5 years ago

Dats de true

Nyasimbe yadema Question no.12 (????)


5 years ago

Yatikanika ntchito apa(tnm sulom)

pheeds manyengavana
pheeds manyengavana
5 years ago

Voting system not viable

Kani zimatere
Kani zimatere
5 years ago

Solve it again it’s true that popular team shall yield more vote though players to be voted for is not fit at that ,but another angle is that this system of SMS is good as it is also promoting our Super League Sponsor TNM though we are not yet told the aim behind voting through SMS, ” REWORKE”

5 years ago

What about strikers, coach nd bullets team on the best discipline team

5 years ago

BB supporters tiyeni tivote mwaunjinji wathu momuja timachitira nthawi zonse,

Sindife a BB tayambitsa izi,

Ma sponsors apereka mwayi kwa aliyense
Kuti atengenawo mbali

Read previous post:
Malawi U-17 football fail to win medal at AU games

Malawi Under-17 national football team failed to win a medal at the Africa Union Region Five Games which ended on Sunday in...