Mbolembole reacts on Cosafa draw, names Malawi women squad: Drops star Linda Kasenda

Malawi National Womens Football Team Head Coach Stuwart Mbolembole has
reacted to the 2017 Cosafa Womens Football Championship draw conducted on Wednesday and has since described it as tough.

Linda Kasenda dropped  Photo by Elijah Phimbi, Nyasa Times

Malawi were drawn in Pool A against Madagascar, Zambia and hosts Zimbabwe.

In an interview with a local radio on Thursday Morning, Mbolembole also expressed concern over the inactiviness of the Malawi team.

“It is a very difficult group. Zimbabwe we know them and Zambia we also know them since we played against them but we don’t know anything about Madagascar,” said Mbolembole.

“We need to work extra hard as you know we havent yet started preparations while all our collegues already started their preparations. We must admit, we have a challenging task ahead of us,” he said.

Meanwhile, Mbolembole through the Football Association of Malawi (FAM) has released a 32 member squad expected to report for training on Monday 28th August 2017 and get down to business on Tuesday 29th.

The girls will be campinga at Mpira Village at Chiwembe in Blantyre.

Surprisingly, Mbolembole has left out Presidential Cup Golden Boot winner Linda Kasenda who plays for Skippers FC of Lilongwe.

He has however called two Malawian foreign based duo of Chisomo Kadzisonga who plays for Altera Porta in Austria and Tabitha Chawingawho plays for Kvarnsvedenik in Sweden.

Below is the full list of players:
Goalkeepers: Thoko Mwase (Blantyre Zero FC), Memory Gama (Skippers
FC), Martha Banda (Skippers FC) and Mercy Sikelo (Ntopwa Super

Defenders: Fatsireni Kazembe (Skippers), Emily Jossam (Skippers),
Chikondi Duwe (Play Football Malawi), Eluby Botomani (DD Sunshine),
Wezzie Mvula (DD Sunshine), Maureen Phiri (CY Sisters), Silvia Phiri
(Ntopwa Super Queens), Patricia Nyirenda (Ntopwa Super Queens) and
Cecilia Mughogho (Rumphi Shooters FC).

Midfielders: Lucy Chiumia (Blantyre Zero), Sungeni Msiska (Blantyre
Zero), Pilirani Malora (Blantyre Zero), Madina Ngulube (DD Sunshine),
Fanny Mwale (DD Sunshine), Shira Dimba (Skippers FC), Sabina Thom (DD
Sunshine), Mwai Ziba (Moyale Womens) and Chimwemwe Sapangwa (Blantyre

Strikers: Temwa Chawinga (Blantyre Zero), Mary Chabvinda (Blantyre
Zero), Zione Robert (Ntopwa Super Queens), Naomi Mwale (Moyale Women),
Chikondi Gondwe (CY Sister), Carlol Mathyola (DD Sunshine) Tabitha
Chawinga (Kvarnsverdenik-Sweded) and Chisomo Kazisonga (Altera

Technical Panel:
Head Coach: Stuart Mbolembole.
1st Ass. Coach: Maggie Chombo
2nd Ass. Coach: Andrew Chikhosi
Goalkeeper Trainer: Sibusiso Padambo
Team Manager: Milly Kumwenda
Team Doc: Catherine Chikaundura.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
First Deputy Speaker Chilenje hails NICE

First Deputy Speaker of Parliament Right  Esther Mcheka Chilenje has hailed the National Initiative for Civic Education (NICE) Trust for...