MEC Commissioners sworn in Monday, JB hailed

All major political parties and social commentators have hailed Malawi’s first female President Joyce Banda for the inclusive way in which she has appointed the new Commissioners for the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC).

With powers vested in her by the Malawi Constitution, State President Banda on the 19th of May 2012 appointed 10 Commissioners to sit on the board for the Malawi Electoral Commission. The new Commissioners are expected to preside over the 2014 Presidential, Parliamentary and Local Government Elections.

Lingson Belekanyama, deputy chief whip of the Malawi Congress Party (MCP), said his party is pleased that  President Banda consulted them and managed to pick two Commissioners from its list of choices.

Bishop Malango: Commissioner

“We are very happy that unlike the previous administration, the President has consulted us and we have got a representation in the current Commission,” he said.

Similar sentiments have been expressed by the Alliance for Democracy (Aford).

The United Democratic Front (UDF) said that it is also happy with the consultation process done by President Banda.

Deputy publicity secretary Ken Ndanga said they are pleased that the incumbent president has run away from the previous mistakes done by late President Bingu Wa Mutharika.

“You remember we had a Commission that had members appointed by one man. President Banda is consulting us on all important national issues including the new Commission,” said Ndanga.

Social commentators and political analysts have also shared similar sentiments in acknowledging that President Joyce Banda is making positive strides in bringing back the country to the path of prosperity.

 Swearing of the Commission

Meanwhile, the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) has announced that the 10 commissioners appointed by President Joyce Banda will be sworn-in on Monday at the High Court.

The Commissioners will be sworn-in by the country’s Chief Justice Lovemore Munlo.

According to information from MEC, the ceremony will start at 10:00am.

MEC says the swearing in is according to a requirement under Section 6 (2) of the Electoral Commission Act No. 11 of 1998.

The new commissioners are Nancy Tembo, Reverend Emmanuel Chimkwita Phiri , Gloria Chingota, Stanley Biliati and Elvey Mtafu.

Others are Reverend Allan Chiphiko, Archbishop emeritus Bernard Malango , Reverend Mezuwa Banda , Bertha Simwaka and Wellington Nakanga.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
JB unites Malawians at Trade Fair, all party colours

In what can be described as Malawi moving as one unit, the country’s citizenry witnessed unity at work when different...