Mtawali calls up Kagunje, Linje to Malawi squad for the first time: Sankhani recalled

Coach Ernest Mtawali has called up Mighty Be Forward Wanderers striker Jabulani Linje and Civo United man of the moment Nelson Kangunje into Flames squad for the very first time in both players’ careers.

Mtawali calls up 27 players Malawi media -Photo Jeromy Kadewere
Mtawali calls up 27 players  -Photo Jeromy Kadewere

The Malawi National Football team, the Flames will go into camp on Monday at the Chiwembe Technical Centre in Blantyre in preparation for the 2015 Cecafa Cup to be played between November 21 and December 6.

Mtawali has called a 27-man squad that includes Mozambique based Simplex Nthala, Chimango Kayira and Chawanangwa Kaonga as well as Gerald Phiri Junior who is yet to start playing for South African Premier Soccer League side Bidvest as he waits for a work permit.

But there is not room for Desportivo De Maputo striker Zicco Mkanda who inspired his club to a cup triumph.

There is also no room for beleaguered Robert Ng’ambi of PSL’s Platinum Stars who had fallen out with Mtawali after undermining his decision to use him as a substitute in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Swaziland.

Bloemfontein Celtic’s Gadinho Mhango is also out of the picture as veterans Joseph Kamwendo, Esau Kanyenda and Harry Nyirenda have also been overlooked.

The development comes barely two days after CECAFA accepted Football Association of Malawi’s request to be considered for the competition as guest.

The Flames will travel to Ethiopia as guests participants to the 11-member competition.

Some of the countries to take part during this tournament include Uganda, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibout, Burundi, Somalia, Rwanda, Sudan and Tanzania

The rest of the players are local based and below is the full squad:

1. Simplex Nthala
2. Richard Chipuwa
3. Brighton Munthali

1. Stanley Sanudi
2. Pilirani Zonda
3. Boston Kabango
4. Miracle Gabeya
5. Yamikani Fodya
6. John Lanjesi
7. Sankhani Mkandawire
8. Chisomo Mpachika

1. John Banda
2. Isaac Kaliati
3. Levison Maganizo
4. Dalitso Sailesi
5. Nelson Kangunje
6. Isaac Mwale
7. Harvey Mkacha
8. Yamikani Chester
9. Daniel Msimuko
10. Chimango Kayira
11. Gerald Phiri

1. Chiukepo Msowoya
2. Schumacher Kuwali
3. Manase Chiyesa
4. Jabulani Linje
5. Chawanangwa Kaonga

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Good squard mtawali but why should kamwendo and Ng’ambi be left out?Mtawali you must leave politics aside,this is football.

6 years ago

Good squard mtawali but should kamwendo and Ng’ambi be left out?Mtawali you must leave politics aside,this is football.

6 years ago

mtawali mupepelatu apa chifukwa choti kagunje anachinya chigoli ndi noma basi mwatengeka? mudziwa bwanji anangokumana nacho? history him well before ur decision

6 years ago

Mtawali Wakhoza,mpira Simbiri Koma Pa Ground

6 years ago

all de,best ma frames

6 years ago

Zilibwino enanso aziyesako mwayi.

6 years ago

Kunena Zoona Chande Ndi Linje Or Kangunje Who’s Good?Chande Ali Bwino,mufuna Mpakati Azachinye Mu CAF Competetion Ndipamene Muzamutenge,big Up Ma Coach

New generation
New generation
6 years ago

This is just a trial otherwise moto palibe. why leaving the professionals??

solomon jumbe
6 years ago

all de best malawi moto buuuu

christopher lazalo
6 years ago

analakwa chani jaffali chande

Read previous post:
Instant Millionaire! Airtel hands over K5m cheque winner in Tisanje promotion

Salima based house wife,  Ruth Makowa, on Monday became the first person to receive a K5 million (USD8,928) cheque from Airtel Malawi...