Munlo, Njobvuyalema sidelined in MCP new executive

Malawi Congress Party (MCP) president Dr Lazarus Chakwera has announced names of its National Executive Committee in which the party’s parliamentarian for Lilongwe Mapuyu South, Joseph Njobvuyalema and contender of Chakwera at the convention retired Chief Justice Lovemore Munlo have been sidelined.

Chakwera announced the new executive at a news conference held in the capital Lilongwe on Friday.

MCP  convention only elected president Chakwera and first vice-president Richard Msowoya, second vice-president MacDonald Lombola, secretary general Chris Daza, his deputy Chatonda Kaunda and treasurer general Tony Kandiero.

According to the full list of its NEC members, MCP has only considered on presidential aspirant at the convention, former Farmers Union of Malawi (FUM) president Felix Jumbe as an ordinary member.

Former Chief Justice Lovemore Munlo  sidelined in MCP NEC

Former Chief Justice Lovemore Munlo sidelined in MCP NEC

Other presidential hopefuls Munlo, Njobvuyalema, Eston Kakhome and Jodder Kanjere are all missing on the list.

However, Njobvuyalema has been retained as the party’s parliamentary Chief Whip.

Also missing are prominent lawmakers of the party Lilongwe Msozi South MP Vitus Dzoole Mwale, MP for Dedza Northwest Alekeni Menyani and former spokesman Jolly Kalelo.

There is also no post of honour for retired party president John Tembo which the previous NEC had agreed to make Tembo national chairperson.

Chakwera has hinted that there will additional names joining the party’s politburo after after NEC meeting next week, saying “other names may be  suggested and more people may come in.”

He said the NEC is not his shadow cabinet.

Notable names making into the 37-member NEC include academician Dr Jessie Kabwila who is now the party’s spokesperson.

One of Malawi’s most successful businesspeople Jimmy Koreia-Mpatsa, UK based governance campaigner Ahmed Dassu, former minister Ernest Malenga  and former Reserve Bank of Malawi general manager Neil Nyirongo are in the executive.

Msowoya: MCP VP

Msowoya: MCP VP

Chakhwantha:deputy legal advisor

Chakhwantha:deputy legal advisor

Jodder Kanjere: Sidelined

Jodder Kanjere: Sidelined

Njobvuyalema: Sidelined

Njobvuyalema: Sidelined

MCP lawmaker Jolly Kalero with his 'kantchini' (ipad) taking photos: Sidelined

MCP lawmaker Jolly Kalero with his ‘kantchini’ (ipad) taking photos: Sidelined

Others are legal advisor Ireen Chikapa whose deputy is lawyer Lewis Chakhwantha and deputy publicity secretary  is journalist Ezekiel Ching’oma who is an MP for Lilongwe East.

Others lawmakers making it into the executive include Lilongwe South West MP Jean Sendeza as Director of political affairs is while MP  for Lilongwe North East MP Maxon Thyolera is her deputy.

The party’s strategist Lilongwe Msinja South MP Lingson Belekanyama has been maintained as director of research while Lilongwe Central MP Lobin Lowe is director of youth.

Veteran  Potipher Chidaya remains MCP administrative secretary.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post
newest oldest most voted
Notify of

More From Nyasatimes

More From web