Nyasa Times journalist retains Standard Bank Cup media award

Nyasa Times journalist Alex Mwazalumo has retained the best online journalist in the Standard Bank Cup Knockout Media Award after beating  other journalists who entered the online category to become K200,000 richer.

Standard Bank head of marketing Unyolo: The media has made the Standard Bank Cup sucessful - Pic Alex Mwazalumo
Standard Bank head of marketing Unyolo: The media has made the Standard Bank Cup sucessful – Pic Alex Mwazalumo

However, the Lilongwe-based journalist missed the colourful event held at the bank’s Southern Region offices in Malawi’s business capital, Blantyre.

Announcing the award one of the judges Mabvuto Kapyepye, who teamed up with University of Malawi’s Journalism and Media studies lecturers, described Mezalumo’s entries as unique.

“We were looking at somebody who has been consistent in the coverage of the Standard Bank Cup, research and also engaging the supporters. Not just reporting on coaches and officials comments after a game,” Kapyepye said.

“Here is somebody [Alex Mwazalumo] who went beyond field of the match to include the issue of superstition such as the belief in juju which has been a contentious issue as one of the teams was reportedly had vigil at a football pitch before the game.”

Mwazalumo said he was humbled to have retained the award.

“I didn’t expect to win this award with the proliferation of online media in the country which has made the competition stiff,” Mwazalumo said.

In other awards Nations Publications Limited NPL, publishers of The Nation, Weekend Nation and Nation on Sunday scooped two awards in best print journalist and best photo journalist categories.

Siyangazi Kaminjolo won the best print category with that of best photojournalist going to Bobby Kabango who shared it with Times Media Group’s Bonex Julius last year.

In television category seasoned sports journalist Pilirani Kachinziri emerged the winner while Capital Radio journalist Madalitso Phiri outsmarted radio journalists to win the award.

Head of Journalism and Media studies at the University of Malawi’s Polytechnic Ellard Manjawira said the media awards had improved the quality of work by journalists.

Manjawira urged Standard Bank to continue supporting the awards in a bid to enhance quality reporting in sports journalism.

Standard Bank Head of Marketing Thoko Unyolo said the media play critical role in information the nation including sports.

Unyolo disclosed that the bank was impressed with the impact of the award citing NPL journalist Garry Chirwa, the multiple winner, who has been promoted to the position o Sports Editor.

Civo United beat Mighty Be Forward Wanderers to win the Standard Bank Knockout competition which is open to best 6 TNM Super League teams who seeded.

Four other teams are voted for by their fans who are also Standard Bank customers.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Mk200,000.00 xmas yafewa bwaaaa. Good job congratulation.

6 years ago


Read previous post:
Super League of Malawi clarifies on relegation of teams

Super League of Malawi has cleared a cloud of uncertainty surrounding the relegation battle in Malawi’s top league. Sulom General...