Sharra named Journalist of the Year: Times scoop best newspaper in Misa-Malawi

Malawi’s media conglomerate, Times Group, on Saturday scooped multiple awards during 2017 Media Institute for Southern Africa (Misa) Malawi chapter  gala night at Bingu International Convention Centre (Bicc) that saw  the ginat news organisation retaining the best newspaper category as well as winning the best television award.

Mmana gets a present from Gideon Munthali after scooping best investigative journalist of the year
Albert Sharra: Named Journalst of the Year

The awards were part of this year’s World Press Freedom Day which falls on May 3, yearly but in Malawi the day was commemorated on May 6, in the capital Lilongwe.

Times also scooped  among other awards, Sunday Times Editor Madalitso Musa as  the Best Columnist of the Year Award while Girl Child Education Journalist of the year (electronic) went to Times’ Alick Ponje.

Investigative Journalist of the year (print)- Deogratias Mmana  ( he now left to join Department of Information in government) and Investigative Journalist of the year (electronic)  was Thomas Kachere of MIJ FM.

Nation Publication Limited (NPL)  journalist Albert Sharra was named Journalist of the Year.

Business Journalist of the year (newspaper) was given to former Nyasa Times investigative journalist Rabecca Chimjeka of Nation Publications while Business Journalist of the year (electronic)  went to Tadala Kaledzera of Zodiak.

Photojournalist of the year went to Bobby Kabango of Nation Publications

Blogger of the Year went to Golden Matonga  of Nation Publications.

Zodiak Broadcasting Station  scooped both Electronic Media House of the year and Radio Station of the year.

Thomas Kachere  of MIJ Radio was given  Best Radio Talk Show Award.

Best Tourism Awards for print went to Brian Ligomeka ( formerly of Times) while for  electronic to  Innocent Kumchedwa (Maziko Radio).

State broadcaster MBC had a consolation pick with Best Human Right Award (electronic) going to its journalist Suzgo Chitete; Farm Trust Radio Award to Bashiru Amini (MBC) and Best Safety and Security Awards (Electronic)  Aston Gondwe  of MBC.

Almost all winners in all categories walked away with cash, laptops, TV decoders and trophies as a token of appreciation for their work they demonstrated in the past year in their duties of bringing out critical issues affecting the general public through writing and radio special report.

Speaker of National Assembly, Richard Msowoya, Minister of Information who is also government spokesperson Nicolas Dausi, Save the Children and American Embassy officials graced the Media Gala night.

Earlier, journalsist postponed their elections  for Misa- Malawi  at Riverside Hotel in Lilongwe following complaints of “strangers”  brought in to vote.

There were two camps comprising Teresa Ndanga, Cliff Kawanga and Mandy Pondani (TCM), against that of Frank Phiri, Sellina Kainja and Chimwemwe Njoloma (FSC) vying to take over positions. Ndanga, who is Zodiak Broadcasting Station (ZBS) head of news, was battling it out with media consultant Phiri on the position of chairperson.

On the other hand, Kainja and Kawanga were scheduled to compete for the position of vice-chairperson while Pondani and Njoloma vied for executive membership.

Misa-Malawi legal counsel Mandala Mambulasa interpreted the constitution, saying only practising journalists are eligible to vote.

He, therefore, postponed the elections to December this year, to allow for a smooth verification exercise.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago

Ndi mediocrity yake imeneyi tikhalira MISA Malawi yomweyo. Anzanu olemba zakupsya akuwina continental and global awards inu muli misa this misa that. Poor country full of mediocre performers.

Amaduh Cassim
Amaduh Cassim
7 years ago

why community radios are not on the list?

chaponda mchimanga
7 years ago

Koma MBC timphoto tomwe awinato akusokosera ngati awina major awards. Zamanyazi.

chaponda mchimanga
7 years ago

A dpp kubera ndi zautolankhani zomwe. Kumuopa Tereza Ndanga. Zamanyazi.

Read previous post:
Malawi singers in UK  gear up for independence celebration: Emma Masauko set to perform

Malawians in UK are getting busy with activities aimed at celebrating Independence Day in style with veteran singer and  former...