Standard Bank Cup prize money up to K28m

The prestigious Standard Bank top eight knock-out Cup has been re-launched with the sponsors Standard Bank announcing an  increase in prize money from K25 million to K28 million.

The cup re-launch was held on Tuesday evening at Sunbird Mount Soche in Blantyre when Standard Bank’s Chief Executive Officer Andrew Mashaba announced the news sponsorship package.

Mashaba said Standard Bank is “committed” to the development of football in the country.

Presenting new sponsorship cheque: Standard Bank boss Mashaba with Saidi and FAM 's Nyirenda
Presenting new sponsorship cheque: Standard Bank boss Mashaba with Saidi and FAM ‘s Nyirenda

He assured the soccer lovers of another great episode of football under the sponsorship of one of the Malawi’s leading commercial banks, Standard Bank.

Mashamba urged all teams to excise fair play in this year’s competition and resist from act of hooliganism

Football Association of Malawi (FAM) chief executive officer Suzgo Nyirenda said there will be order and strictly football entertainment in the competition.

Nyirenda commended Standard Bank for their “continued” sponsorship.

Principal Secretary in the ministry of sports, youth development Justin Saidi thanked the bank for helping government in developing sports in the country.

He then call upon all football lovers to support the bank and urged match officials to handle the games professionally to avoid causing violence

The format in the 2014 competition will remain be the same as last year-knockout.

FAM competitions officer Gomezgani Zakazaka said this year’s tournament will be played within three weeks.

He said preliminary games are set to kick off on August 13.

“The quarter-finals are slated for the weekend of August 16-17, semi-finals will be played during the weekend of August 23-24 and the finals a week later [August 31],” said Zakazaka.

He also said the dates of voting by Standard Bank customers for the four teams to take part in the preliminaries will also be announced during the function while the draw is set for August 6.

The six teams that have earned automatic qualification are last season’s top six teams which include defending champions Mighty Wanderers. The others are Silver Strikers, Moyale, Mafco, Kamuzu Baracks and Blue Eagles.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Mutharika says unity critical to national development

Government has said unity of purpose among people of different political divide was necessary to achieving meaningful and sustainable development...