Two MPs introduced as new members of MCP

Veteran politician John Tembo on Saturday introduced lawmakers  Theresa Mwale (Mchinji west) and Christina Chiwoko (Lilongwe Mapuyu north) as new members of the Malawi Congress Party (MCP).

Tembo welcomed the injection of new blood in the party’s rank and file but also that the old guard should still be providing “guidance and wisdom in the party.”

“We have youths here and although they are not many they are very important to the party. Some of us started politics at a tender age but we had to learn from the elders. The dynamics of organisational change depend on how you integrate the old and the new experience, knowledge and wisdom,” said Tembo.

He pointed out that MCP is a party for the people.

MP Jean Sendeza (R) was Director of Ceremonies at the MCP convention
MP Jean Sendeza (R) was Director of Ceremonies at the MCP convention

“It is not a party for one person. This party was [Kamuzu Banda] Ngwazi’s party. We must seek leadership which would be true to the party and no other organisation but the MCP,” he said.

Tembo said MCP  “has suffered a lot but this is the first party in Malawi, this is the party that fought for the country’s independence and will never give up.”

Among renowned guests to the convention included British High Commissioner Michael Nevin, Chinese Ambassador Pan Hejun, Press Corporation Limited Chief Executive Officer Mathews Chikaonda, Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) Publicity Secretary Nicholas Dausi and United Democratic Front (UDF) Secretary General Kandi Padambo.

The ruling People’s Party (PP) acting Secretary General Paul Maulidi sent a congratulatory message which was read by the Director of Ceremony Jean Sendeza, who is also MP for Lilongwe south west.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Bullets lose to Epac, Eagles beat Silver 1-0: Malawi TNM Super League

Historic win! Epac FC on Saturday  shocked Big Bullets when striker Ishamel Thindwa’s lone goal was in enough to win...