Only Zimbabwe to represent Cosafa at 2017 Nations Cup

Zimbabwe, who are assured of qualification as they lead Group L with 11 points — three ahead of Swaziland — will be the only side to represent the 13 countries from the Confederation of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) at the 2017 Gabon Africa Cup of Nations.

The Brave Warriors
The Brave Warriors

The Warriors  are in group L together with Guinea and fellow Cosafa members, Swaziland and Malawi. who have 11 points while Swaziland have eight. They finish their qualifiers against Guinea 28 Septembre Stadium in Conakry on Sunday as Malawi host second-placed Swaziland at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre.

Swaziland need to win against the Flames with the hope that Zimbabwe will lose to Guinea. In that scenario, Swaziland can qualify as the best losers by tying on points with the Warriors.

The other Cosafa members who have failed to qualify are 2012 Nations Cup winners Zambia, Angola, Madagascar, Botswana, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Lesotho, Namibia and South Africa.

Angola have four points and Madagascar two in Group B that is lead by DRC by 12 points followed by Central African Republic with 10. The decider in this group is between DRC and Central African Republic who meet on Sunday.

Botswana, who have six points, meet leaders with 10 points Burkina Faso while second-placed Uganda also with 10 points date Comoros (three points).

Zambia, who are third in Group E with six points, date 4th-placed Kenya with four points. Already qualified leaders with 10 points Guinea-Bissau date second-placed Congo with six points.

Mauritius are third in Group H with six points and Mozambique fourth with four points. The group is led by Ghana with 13 points followed by Rwanda with six.

Seychelles have four points and Lesotho with three points in Group J led by Algeria with 13 with Ethiopia on second place with eight points.

Namibia, the only Cosafa team in Group K date runaway leaders Senegal with 15 maximum points. Namibia and Burundi tie on six points with Niger on three points.

Cameroun have qualified from Group M with 11 points, followed by Mauritania on seven points with Cosafa member South Africa third with six points and Gambia last with two points. South Africa meet Mauritania while Cameroon finish off with Gambia.

South Africa were champions in 1996 when they hosted but since then they have failed to re-claim the title despite hosting the event again in 2013.

Teams that have already qualified are Morocco in Group F. They have 13 while their runners-up, Cape Verde have nine. Other teams in that group were Libya (4 points) and Sao Tome e Principe (3).

Nigeria, champions in 2013 finals in South Africa will not be participating in this edition. They are second with two points in a three-team Group G with runaway leaders Egypt with 10 points. The other team are Tanzania. Chad withdrew from the competition.

Ghana have also qualified in Group H with 13. Their runners-up are Rwanda with six points, tying with Mauritius while Mozambique have four.

Algeria go into their last qualifier against Lesotho in Group J already qualified with 13 points, five ahead of second-placed Ethiopia with eight points, who date Seychelles (4 points).

Group I winners will determined this weekend. Cote d’Ivoire, who lead with nine points date Sierra Leone with seven points while Gabon—also with seven points—meet Sudan (4 points).

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

Warriors … not Brave Warriors, where did you get that?

Read previous post:
Kasambara sentenced to 13 years jail: Malawi ex-justice minister appeals

Former minister of justice Ralph Kasambara  has been sentenced to 13 years  prison term on the count of conspiracy to murder former...