Zonda, Sulumba missing on Malawi squad for Cosafa Cup tournament 

Defender Pilirani Zonda and forward Muhammad Sulumba are missing on the list of Malawi’s Flames squad published on COSAFA website on Sunday, June 5 2016.

Pilirani Zonda and Lucky Malata: Not in squad
Pilirani Zonda and Lucky Malata: Not in squad
Sulumba : Dropped
Sulumba : Dropped

Also missing from the list is goalkeeper Enerst Kakhobwe, apart from midfielder Micium Mhone, who was sent packing after the Africa Cup of Nations qualifier match against Zimbabwe last Sunday.

Zonda, Sulumba and Kakhobwe were part of the squad that traveled to Zimbabwe where the Flames lost 3-0.

Sulumba played against Zimbabwe as second half substitute and replaced Mhone, who plies trade in South Africa.

According to the squad appearing on http://www.cosafa.com/big-names-in-malawi-squad-for-cosafa-castle-cup/,  Flames coach Enerst Mtawali has instead incorporated goalkeepers John Soko and Brighton Munthali and defender Limbikani Mzava who was equally left due to injury.

Soko was unceremoniously dropped and replaced by Kakhobwe.

Mhone, who has been dropped over indiscipline, has been replaced with Isaac Kaliati, who was equally left after missing some training session due to injury.

The Flames anchors Group L with two points and remain winless in five games and their last fixture is against Swaziland who defeated Guinea 1-0 in Mbabane, Swaziland on Sunday.

The 2016 Cosafa Cup will run from June 11 to June 22, according to Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa).

The Flames will face Angola in their first Cosafa Castle Cup Group B assignment on June 12 at Independence Stadium in Windhoek, Namibia.

Malawi’s second game is against Mauritius on June 14 at the same venue before engaging Lesotho two days later.

The group winners will qualify for the quarter-finals to face South Africa’s Bafana Bafana on June 18.

The Flames have never won the cup since its inception in 1997.

Zambia and Zimbabwe have each claimed four titles each, with South Africa and Angola three-time winners. Namibia claimed their first championship when they won the 2015 edition.

Following is the Malawi squad appearing on Cosafa website;

Goalkeepers: Brighton Munthali, Charles Swini, John Soko

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi, Yamikani Fodya, Miracle Gabeya, Francis Mulimbika, John Lanjesi, Limbikani Mzava, Harry Nyirenda

Midfielders: Wonderful Jeremani, Isaac Kaliati, Josephy Kamwendo, John Banda, Dalitso Sailesi, Rafiq Namwera, Gerald Phiri.

Forwards: Chiukepo Msowoya, Peter Wadabwa, Gabadinho Mhango

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Micium Mhone dropped from Malawi squad for Cosafa Cup

South Africa based professional Micium Mhone failed to make the cut for Cosafa Malawi's squad. Mhone, who has been beckon...