Congratulations are in order for Kamuzu Barracks for winning Malawi TNM Super League

Kamuzu Barracks have gone on to win their first ever TNM Super League title  just in few attempts since they joined the top flight league. They deserve a good bear hug for their coherency because at the end of the first round, Kamuzu Barracks were on position nine.

They had 22 points of six wins, four draws and five losses. At the top were Blue Eagles with 33 points — nine points ahead of KB while Silver Strikers were second with 29 points with Mafco on this with 28 points.

What was impressive is that KB seemed to have developed a good strategy by making sure they don’t unnecessarily drop points in the second round.

In the second round they won 13 games and lost two and never picked a draw.

They deserve the title and the fact that they lost the Fam FISD Challenge by a whisker through post-match penalties against Mighty Be Forward Wanderers.

They have the right to revel in the glory as they await to defend the title, which shall be quite tough.

At the same time, Nyasa Big Bullets also deserve a pat on the back for becoming runners-up. As defending champions, Nyasa Bullets were on a good course when the league started when they played six games in which they won three and also drew three before they went on bye in June.

They were on bye to pave way for the Flames’ assignments against Zimbabwe in the dead rubber Africa Cup of Nations and later the COSAFA Cup in Namibia.

Three weeks they were out of action because they could not be playing since they had contributed a bulk of their star players for national duty.

Meanwhile, the other teams which didn’t have national team players were being fixed games and by the time the Bullets were call to action when the Flames returned, they were 9th with Blue Eagles first, Silver strikers 2nd, Moyale 3rd, Azam Tigers 4th, Mafco 5th, Epac 6th, Mzuni 7th,  KB 8th and Civo 9th.

But the People’s Team fought tenaciously against all odds. What hurt them were as draws because they earned four more draws to the three they had before resuming the title campaign but managed to win three more games and lost two.

Otherwise, it was an intriguing season. KB has joined the elite as they are the 8th team to win the Super League since 1986.

But the Bullets hold the honours of having held the title 13 times (1986, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1998-99, 1999-00, 2000-01, 2001-02, 2002-03, 2004, 2005-06, 2014-15 and 2015-16).

Mighty Wanderers are five-time champions (1990, 1995, 1996-97, 1997-98, 2006), Silver Strikers seven time (1993, 1994, 1995-96, 2008, 2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13), defunct Escom United two time (2007, 2010-11), disbanded MDC United once (1988), relegated Civo United once 1987) and Admarc Tigers (now Azam Tigers) also once (1989).

Bullets hold the record of having won the league title seven times in a row from 1999 to 2006 but stayed eight years in a row without winning.

What matters in winning these titles is the challenge of retaining it. So far only three time managed to retain it, which are:

Bullets (1991and 1992); the seven times in a row and in 2014 and 2015,

Silver Strikers three times in 1993 and 1994; 2008 and 2009-10, 2011-12 and 2012-13,

Wanderers once in 1996-97 and 1997-98 seasons.

It will be interesting in the new season to see if KB shall retain the title. All the other title contenders have gone back to their dens to lick their wounds and are just waiting eagerly for the next season.

But let me not deter you from enjoying the glorious moment. Congratulations.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago


Read previous post:
Nomads bus breaks down after winning it in Luso TV bonanza

Mighty Be Forward Wanderers  victory celebration of winning  Luso TV Bus Ipite Bonanza  was spoiled on Tuesday when the  K25...