FA Malawi elections postponed: AGM to go ahead

The highly anticipated Football Association of Malawi (FAM) elections scheduled for 12 December at Nkopola Lodge in the Southern Region district of Mangochi will not take place after an Appeal Committee stopped the elections because the electoral committee flouted its code.

Justice Chikopa: The elections should be postponed but FIFA will decide

Justice Chikopa: The elections should be postponed but FIFA will decide

An official from one of the affiliates confirmed the development but he declined to shed more light on the issue, saying they are awaiting Fifa decision on elections

FAM president Walter Nyamilandu challengers, Wilkins Mijiga and Yabwanya Phiri together with Tiya Somba Banda appealed that list of delegates to the FAM General Assembly were not sent at least 15 days before the date of the Assembly as required by the association’s electoral code.

In his determination, Justice Lovemore Chikopa of the Appeal Committee ruled that “in order to maintain the integrity of processes of the FAM elections,” the election only proceeds upon compliance with Article 22(1) and (5) of the FAM Statutes that the list of delegates be released at least 15 days.

FAM secretary general Suzgho Nyirenda released the delegates list on Thursday.

According to Chikopa, it means the elections cannot go ahead because a new list has to be produced and submitted at least 15 days before the Assembly at which elections are to take place.

Chikopa however said there is a twist in that the FAM Electoral code states that the Appeal Committee shall comprise 3 members and two substitutes.

“Therefore the directions of FIFA are being sought on whether a quorum was formed by the Appeals Committee which only comprised 2 members instead of the stipulated 3,” he said.

He said FIFA representative who was to oversee the elections; Ashford Mamelodi will hopefully give directions on the way forward.

Chikopa said a decision of FIFA may be that either the elections be postponed if the decision of the Appeals Committee stand or elections go ahead if the was no quorum and the decision of the Appeal Committee is null and void

However, other business regarding the Annual General Meeting would go ahead.

FAM out-going executive committee member James Mwenda faces Sulom Treasurer Tiya Somba Banda for the position of First Vice President held by Moses Mkandawire who has decided to step down after serving two four year terms.

Incumbent Second Vice President Pikao Ngalamila faces executive member Nathaniel Hara.

Among executive member contestants are lawyer Jabber Alide, former FAM Treasurer Hubert Mfune who will join Sulom President Innocent Bottoman and National Women’s Football Chairperson Silveria Chalira who have automatic positions by the virtue of their positions.

Voters list

The following is the list of delegates to the elections: Raphael Humba (chairperson), William Gowelo (member), Daud Mtathiko (treasurer), Rajab Namalaka (vice-treasurer), George Pagaja (general secretary, Tiziona Banda (member)-Southern Region Football Association).

Severia Chalira (chairperson), Lina Mtegha (general secretary),- National Women’s Football Association.

Kondwani Gondwe (chairperson) Leonard Mazombwe (member)- Beach Soccer Association.

Patrick Kapanga (chairman), Chris Kalichero (general secretary)- National Referees Association.

Mabvuto Missi (chairperson) Chimango Munthali (vice-general secretary).-National Youth Football Association.

Jommo Ngonga (chairperson), Benjamin Kumwenda (general secretary)-National Coaches Association

Innocent Botomani (chairperson), Williams Banda (general secretary), Tiyanjane Somba-Banda (treasurer), Captain Gilbert Mitawa (legal adviser), Godfrey Makawano (member), Aggrey Khonje (member) Lt. Col. Elvis Mwase (member), Charles Manyungwa (member)- Super League of Malawi

Lameck Khonje (chairperson), Andrew Phiri (member), Chauka Mwasinga (treasurer), Fumbani Gondwe (member), Alfred Gunda (general secretary),Patel Kaunda (vice-general secretary)-Northern Region Football Association.

Austin Ajawa (chairperson), Pyson Likagwa (treasurer), Bernard Harawa (general secretary), Winston Katendema (member), Charles Kapichi (vice- chairman) Tifa Ngoma vice-treasurer-Central Region Fotball Association.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post

More From the World

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Prince Edward rsa

Wota have been at fam for 12years malawi never qualified for world cup and the poor results is order of the day but srfl,crfl,nrfl are for wota should we say these pipo are there for football or money dont you see that wota is killing our football this elections must be stoped we have to demostrate that the way this elections are being conducted is very doubtiful and fifa must be called in to investegate this nosense of wota.

Nyamilangu rita

Walter ngati ukufuna ingogula ikhale yako kape Iwe eti

paul dowa

Walter wooyee!!!!!!!!!!!! Zikufunika pephero izi kodi enawa anali kut thawi yonseyi,

chizamsoka munthali

Dingiswayo ulichizeleza utukhozga soni tabena mpoto


Mantha basi oluza ma elections…even if elections come next month Walter will carry the day. .pepani. mwangoluzapo ndalama a Mijiga…! Go Walter Go we are all behind you.

Ackim Jienker

Walta Ayese Mwai K Netbal K Ftbal Wat Konda


To my side nyamilandu ayi awasiile azake alamulile


walter step down for others what about if you start politics, how crooked and killer will you be?


This is a public office n the public elects office bears basing on perfomance n deliverence! Example, has Walter delivered and so on!But these electios its not the public voting but rather FAM workmates who gona vote basing on relationship regardless of potential n performance with this I see Water getting through rendering no changes or new results in sports! Shame!

The Most Concerned

Walter yemweyo, kuti wA! wA! wA!

More From Nyasatimes