FAM finally presents awards to Malawi sports journalists

Football Association of Malawi (FAM) awarded some sports journalists from various media organisations on Friday for their being outstanding when covering the 2012-2013 Presidential Cup which was won by Mafco FC after beating Silver Strikers in post match penalties.

The function which took place at FAM’s offices in Chiwembe, Blantyre and was attended by notable FAM officials such as Sugzo Nyirenda, Gomezani Zakazaka, Casper Jangale and Trouble Kaluwa with journalists themselves.

In his remarks, FAM’s general secretary Sugzo Nyirenda hailed the winning scribers for their hardworking spirit when covering the games of the prestigious competition.

He also pointed out that in this year’s competition; the sponsor (which is government) was left with the mantle to select the winning scribers in conjunction with FAM for the sake of transparency.

Malawi News Agency Arkangel Tembo turn to receive his cheque

Malawi News Agency Arkangel Tembo turn to receive his cheque

In the photojournalists’ category, Bonnex Julius from The Daily Times scooped the first position seconded by Nation Publications Limited’s (NPL) Bobby Kabango and MBCTV Rudo Soko on third position.

Sports Writers Union of Malawi (SWAM) President Peter Kanjere stepped up to present the awards with cheques.

In the print media, Joy Ndovi from The Daily Times emerged on first position followed by Garry Chirwa from Nation Publications Limited (NPL) whereas Arkangel Tembo from Malawi News Agency (MANA) scooped third position.

Williams Gondwa from Matindi Radio Station was voted the best in the electronic media with Mike Bango from Zodiak Broadcasting Station (ZBS) coming second whereas MBC’s Frank Kandu and MIJ FM’s Dietrich Fredrick shared the third place.

MBCTV presenter Chisomo Mwamadi emerged the best from Television while the only female sports journalist in Malawi, Lucy Kadzongwe from ZBS, was recognised of her efforts in covering the competition.

1.      Joy  Ndovi
2.      Garry Chirwa
3.      Arkangel Tembo

1.      Williams Gondwa
2.      Mike Bango
3.      Frank Kandu and Fredrick Dedlich

1.      Chisomo Mwamadi

1.      Bonnex Julius
2.      Bobby Kabango
3.      Rudo Soko

The Nation Publication Limited Bobby Kabango being awarded

The Nation Publication Limited Bobby Kabango being awarded

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post

More From the World

newest oldest most voted
Notify of

More From Nyasatimes