Malawi electoral Commissioners appointed

President Joyce Banda has appointed new Malawi Electoral Commission Commissioners. The Office of the President and cabinet (OPC) announced the names on Saturday.

The new Commissioners are Reverend Allan Chiphiko, Malawi Congress Party (MCP) spokesperson and former Lilongwe City legislator Nancy Tembo, Bishop Bernard Malango of Anglican Church, Reverend Mezuwa Banda of the Livingstonia Synod of the CCAP, Bertha Simwaka , former United Democratic Front (UDF) Mulanje Bale MP  Elvy Mtafu, Dr. Wellington Nakanga, governing People’s Party executive officials  Reverend Emmanuel Chimkwita Phiri and Gloria Chingota, respectively and former Maravi People’s Part member Stanley Biliati.

Nancy Tembo: New commissioner

According to the OPC, the new Commissioners have been appointed with effect from Saturday.

When she delivered her State of the Nation Address during the official opening of the 2012/2013 Budget Meeting of Parliament in Lilongwe on Friday, Banda disclosed that she had written to political parties to nominate candidates to be considered for appointment as Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) Commissioners.

“We are confident that MEC Commissioners will be appointed very soon to allow the Commission commence its work. Government will continue with inter-party dialogue to ensure political stability,” said the Head of State.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post

More From Nyasatimes

More From web