Malawi hockey team lose to Zambia againto settle for silver at Tanzania tournament

Malawi national hockey team’s dream of winning gold medal 20 years after returning to international hockey games were dented by neighburing Zambia in the final of the inaugural International Hockey Federation Presidential Cup played on Sunday.

Malawi Hockey team falls to Zambia again

Malawi hockey team lost 1-0 in the final after also succumbing to the same team 3-1 in the preliminary matches.

Ironically, Malawi started the campign on a winning run with a 3-1 triumph over hosts Tanzania through goals from James Bandawe, Dan Matavata and Dennlyne Mgeni.

Despite Malawi beating Tanzania 3-1 the hosts in turn beat Zambia 1-0 in the preliminary round.

The team, which left for the tournament by road using Malawi National Council of Sports premier coach, is expected back on Wednesday.

The following is the full list of the squad which made it to the tournament;

Goalkeepers; Jones Johanne Chonzi Dayo, Redson Mankhanamba, Temwa Kingsley Chirwa

Defenders; Jeffrey Kadango, Anthony Pinheiro, Gift Kagwada, Benjamin Chaura

Midfielders; Levi Kumwenda, Mayayi Nhlane, Ulemu Ngwira, Innocent Masangano, Knox Katsala,

Strikers; Zain Quereshi, Denollyne Mgeni, Daniel Matavata, McoDonald Uzani, James Bandawe, Kuleza Peno


Geoff Biya (headcoach),

Allan Pinheiro (assistant coach)

Kundai Mbawala (team manager)

Precius Tadala Gwelema (physio)

Grace Jana (team leader)

Precious Lumbeja (judge)

Reuben Malambo (umpire)


Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
MP Mwenifumbo opposes plans to move refugee camp to Karonga

Karonga Central MP Frank Mwenifumbo stunned the government when he vehemently rejected plans to move Dzaleka Refugee camp from Dowa...