Malawi name squad for Cecafa Cup: Mixture of experience and new talent

Malawi national football team coach Kinnah Phiri namesd his 20-man squad for the Cecafa Challenge Cup in Uganda with a mixture of experience and new takent.

Kinnah, who dropped two senior midfielders Frank Banda and Davie Banda, after the sneaked out of training camp for beer drinking, said he has faith in his homegrown talent.

“I have faith in the young players who have discipline. They have to prove to the nation that they are good,” he said.

The Malawi coach has introduced two new goalkeepers, Owen Chaima and Richard Chipuwa, who are likely to play second fiddle to first-choice keeper Charles Swini.

Right-winger Mician Mhone of Blue Eagles, defender George Nyirenda and striker Innocent Bokosi have been included for the national duty for the first time.

Malawi coach Kinna Phiri and skipper Moses Chavula: CECAFA campaign

Malawi squad:

Goalkeepers: Charles Swini (Silver Strikers), Owen Chaima (Big Bullets), Richard Chipuwa (Wanderers FC)

Defenders: Foster Namwera (Wanderers FC), Moses Chavula (Wanderers FC), Bongani Kaipa (Wanderers FC), Steve Chagona (Blue Eagles), George Nyirenda (Big Bullets), Pilirani Makupe (Civo United), John Lanjesi (Civo United)

Midfielders: Joseph Kamwendo (Wanderers FC), Patrick Masanjala (Blue Eagles), Mician Mhone (Blue Eagles), Ndaziona Chatsalira (Silver Strikers), Chimango Kayira(Big Bullets), Benard Harawa (Escom United)

Strikers: Chiukepo Msowoya (Escom United), Rodrick Gonani (Silver Strikers), Green Harawa (Silver Strikers), Innocent Bokosi (Blue Eagles)

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
EU, Malawi signs MK40bln budget support agreement for 3 years

The European Union and Malawi Government on Wednesday signed a financing agreement worth MK39.7bn (98m Euros) for General Budget Support...