MEC reinstates 15 disqualified candidates including Chisi, Kabwila and Ngwale

Malawi Electoral Commission (Mec) has rescinded its plan to appeal against High Court’s ruling over disqualification of 15 parliamentary candidates and one presidential aspirant, disclosing it has instead reinstated them to contest the May 20 elections.

Mec in February this year disqualified some candidates for failing to resign from civil service as public officers at the time they presented their nominations papers. Some of the candidates including Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Publicity Secretary, Jessie Kabwila and Umodzi Party (UP) president, John Chisi took the Commission to court, which ruled in their favour.

In a statement, Mec’s Chief Elections Officer, Willie Kalonga said the Commission has allowed the affected politicians to participate in the elections but will appeal against the court rulings after May 20th elections.

Chisi (L) with MEC chairperson Justice Maxon Mbendera during the nominations
Chisi (L) with MEC chairperson Justice Maxon Mbendera during the nominations

“The Malawi Electoral Commission met on Wednesday, April 2, 2014 to review the recent rulings of the High Court on. disqualified candidates. The Commission observed that the rulings made by Judges Mike Tembo, Dunstain Mwaungulu and Dorothy Nyakaunda Kamanga contradicted each other particularly on the definition of public officer,” said Kalonga in a statement.

He added: “Consequently the Commission resolved to appeal all cases involving those “holding public office” to the Supreme Court. However, due to time constraints, the Commission further resolved that the upper court should hear the matters after the May 20, 2014 Elections”.

The candidates are:  Presidential Election:  Professor John Chisi of Umodzi Party

Parliamentary Election:  Malani Mtonga  of People’s Party ,Karonga South; Mercy Melayi Kaunda of People’s Party, Nkhata Bay West;  Duncan Misheck Nyirenda of  Democratic Progressive Party, Nkhata Bay North; Dominic Ndengu of Democratic Progressive Party, Mzimba Hora;  Jessie Kabwila of Malawi Congress party, Salima North West;  Elias Wakuda Kamanga of Peoples Party Kasungu North East; Olive Mawindo of People’s Party. Lilongwe Kumachenga;  Peter Dimba Independent, Lilongwe South;  Chrissie Khembo Independent, Machinga Central;  McDonald Sylvester Sembereka  of Peoples Party Mangochi Central;  Patricia Malinki of Peoples Progressive Movement, Blantyre North West; Matthews Ngwale of United Democratic Front, Chiradzulu West 3;  Chimwemwe Kalua Independent Blantyre Malabada; Dr Joseph Chidanti  Malunga, Independent; Nsanje South West and Dr Sam Dumba Safuli  of People’s Party Nsanje Central.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Malawi invites poll observers to monitor May 20 elections

Malawi’s Electoral Commission has officially invited is inviting foreign poll observers to join the local observers to monitor the May...