MEC rejects Chisi as Malawi presidential candidate: 11 approved

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) has approved 11 presidential candidates who presented their nomination papers but refused Umodzi Party (UP) presidential candidate Professor John Chisi.

Section 51 of the Parliamentary and Presidential Elections Act obliges the Malawi electoral body to publish names of validly nominated candidates for presidential election within seven days from the last day of receiving nomination papers.

In announcing the list on Thursday, MEC said it had approved 11 presidential candidates and their running mates but omitted the name of Chisi.

Prof. Chisi: Rejected
Prof. Chisi: Rejected

Asked to explain the missing of Chisi, MEC spokesman Sangwani Mwafulirwa told Nyasa Times that his nominations papers have been “rejected.”

He said MEC rejected his papers because Chisi at the time of the nominations “was still a serving public officer” as a lecture in the University of Malawi.

The list of approved presidential candidates include President Joyce Banda of People’s Party with her running mate Sosten Gwengwe.

United Democratic Front (UDF) president Atupele Muluzi and his running mate Dr Godfrey Chapola; Malawi Congress Party (MCP) president Dr Lazarous Chakwera and his running mate Richard Msowoya; Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) president Prof. Peter Mutharika and his running mate Saulos Chilima.

Other are People’s Progressive Movement’s (PPM) President Mark Katsonga and his running mate Prof Jacob Mbunge, People’s Transformation Party (Petra) Kamuzu Chibambo and his running mate White Scander; Chipani Cha Pfuko president Davis Chester Katsonga and his running mate Godfrey Matenganya.

MEC announced other validly nominated candidates for 2014 presidential election included National Salvation Front (NASAF) president James Nyondo with his running mate Ethel Changa; New Labour Party president Friday Jumbe and his running mate Joseph Kubwalo; Mafunde president George Nnesa and his running Silverster Chabuka.

An all-women’s presidential ticket of United Independence Party (UIP) president Hellen Singh and Chrissy Tembo has also been approved.

Chisi (L) with MEC chairperson Justice Maxon Mbendera during the nominations
Chisi (L) with MEC chairperson Justice Maxon Mbendera during the nominations

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Ngwira says JB is like biblical Deborah, detractors to perish

People’s Party (PP) provincial chairperson for the North, Reverend Christopher Mzomera Ngwira, has cursed critics of President Joyce Banda that...