MEC to open inspection of Malawi voters roll March 24-28

The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) in readiness for the forthcoming tripartite elections has urged all registered voters, political parties, civil society organizations and the general public that it will open registration centers for inspection of the voters roll.

Commissioner Rev. Emmanuel Chimkwita Phiri made the request in Lilongwe on Monday when he officially opened trainings of District Elections Clerks and Constituency Returning Officers on the voter register inspection  which will done in two phases from 24th to 28th March, 2014 and from 1st to 5th April, 2014.

He said during this period all registered voters are urged to go to the centers where they registered to inspect how their names, pictures and other registration details are appearing in the voters roll.

Chinkwita:  Voters rolls to be inspected
Chinkwita: Voters rolls to be inspected

“Registered voters who lost their certificates should also go to the centers where they registered to get their duplicate certificates which will enable them vote easily on May 20, 2014.

“The Commission is also urging the public that they should report deaths of their relatives so that they should be removed from the voters register. They should bring the voter certificate of the deceased and a death certificate or a letter from a traditional or religious leader as evidence,” said Chimkwita Phiri.

He further said that the Commission will also process transfers for people who have moved away from the centers where they registered and they will be unable to go to that centre on the polling day and these should go with their voter certificate to the centre where they wish to vote at and ask to be transferred to that centre.

“The voter inspection exercise will be conducted in phases to enable the Commission to place adequate teams in all wards with photographic equipment to attend to queries and issues that may arise,” said the Commissioner.

Phase 1 will include Chitipa, Karonga, Rumphi, Nkhata Bay, Mzuzu City, Mzimba, Likoma, Kasungu, Nkhotakota, Ntchisi, Dowa, Salima, Mchinji, Dedza and Ntcheu.

While Phase 2 will include Lilongwe, Mangochi, Balaka, Machinga, Zomba, Chiradzulu, Blantyre, Mwanza, Neno, Thyolo, Lunchenza, Phalombe, Mulanje, Chikwawa and Nsanje.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Mulli, Ben Phiri face arrest: JB says Thyolo killings ‘uncalled for’

Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) president Peter Mutharika's Personal Assistant Ben Phiri, Mutharika’s chief security aide Chisale and Leston Mulli, the Managing...