Mutharika names DPP shadow cabinet

After being inactive during the recently-ended period of mourning the late president, the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) seems to have started to embark on a radical programme to wrestle back power from the de-facto ruling party, the People’s Party.

Reports reaching Nyasa Times indicate that the acting president of the DPP, Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika has appointed a shadow cabinet.

According to  the DPP, the cabinet has been appointed to monitor and shadow Government Ministers with a view to offer alternative proposals and solutions to the challenges facing Malawi as a nation.

“The shadow cabinet will assist in providing checks and balances to various ministries in President Joyce Banda’s administration,” confirmed a spokesperson to Mutharika.

Peter Mutharika: DPP on the move

‘Strong brand’

The 26-member shadow cabinet will be headed by Mutharika himself, with  Mulanje Central MP Kondwani  Nakhumwa appointed shadow Minister without portfolio – a position that is not existing in Joyce Banda’s Cabinet. Others in this cabinet include:

Goodall Gondwe- Finance;  George Chaponda- Justice; Jean  Kalirani- Health;  Henry Mussa- Transport;  Patricia Kaliati – Tourism; Yunus Mussa – Labour; Symon Vuwa Kaunda – Sports; Vera Faramenga Chilewani – Energy; and Nick Masebo – Mining. Others are: Songazaudzu Sajeni – Education; Nicholas  Dausi – Information;  Chimango Mughogho – Local government;  Margaret Mauwa- Agriculture; Kingsley Namakhwa – Water; and  Francis Phiso – Irrigation.

The rest are Francis Kasaila – Economic Planning; Paul Chibingu – Defence; Tarsizio Gowelo – Lands; Christopher Ngwira – Home Affairs; Dr Allan Chiyembekeza – Environment; Cecilia Chazama – Trade;
Eunice Napolo – Gender; and Msulira Banda – Disability.

Mutharika spokesman said the team comprises of “men and women of substance” and described the shadow cabinet as a strong brand of DPP members.

Media taskforce

Meanwhile, the DPP has established a Media Task Force which has started working towards building its relations with the media and the public – which were strained when they were in power due to the introduction of legislation that suffocated free press.

This committee will also work hard to improve the image of both the party and its leading figures in preparation for the 2014 elections.

The Task Force comprises the DPP spokesman Nicholas Dausi, his deputy Francis Kasaila, former MBC editor Kondwani Nankhumwa, and Dr Hetherwick Ntaba, the former Presidential spokesperson.

The task force will also look into publications and broadcasting services of the party.

 Nyasa Times understands that the committee was formed last month as Parliament was meeting in Lilongwe.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
MCC CEO commits K97.8 billion for Malawi’s power sector

Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC) has officially reinstated the country's Compact US$350.7 million (K 97.8) billion for energy which was suspended...