Rev Mtonga, ‘Soldier’, Ngumuya sworn-in as MPs

A mix of tension, excitement and high hopes for Malawi’s new parliament after the end of swearing-in ceremony on newly elected legislature by Chief Justice Anastazia Msosa at the new parliament building in capital Lilongwe.

With President Peter Mutharika’s constituency becoming vacant after he took the oath of office last Saturday, and with elections still to be held in the Blantyre North Constituency, only 191 MPs were sworn in.

Among the newcomers sworn in on Tuesday were Rev Malani Mtonga of People’s Party (PP) in Karonga South constituency, Juliana Lunguzi of Malawi Congress Party (MCP), former deputy soeaker Esther Mcheka Chilenje, gospel singer Allan Ngumuya (independent) former vice president Khumbo Kachali, and top musician-cum-politician Lucius ‘Soldier’ Banda of United Democratic Front (UDF).

Mtonga: Being sworn-in
Mtonga: Being sworn-in
Chilenje Taking an oath as MP
Chilenje Taking an oath as MP

The new MPs will serve five-year terms.

Granting an interview to Nyasa Times, Rev Mtonga who was serving former president Joyce Banda as a special assistant and also served late president Bingu wa Mutharika as a religious aide, said he was happy to be a member of the law making House.

He promised to use his contributions in the House and as an MP to develop Karonga south constituency.

“I envision a developed Karonga South Constituency that is healthy, economically developed, ecologically balanced, diminished household poverty and HIV/AIDS impacts, enhanced education quality, preserved cultural heritage,” he said.

Mtonga said he will also seek fight for road networks with linkages to markets.

“I will ensure my constituents get the empowerment and development they deserve,” he said.

On his PP which has lost power, Mtonga said they seek to renew their party “revitalize our plans, rebuild confidence and return as the next government.”

There are 52 independent MPs in Malawi’s 193-member National Assembly.

President Mutharika’s Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has 49 seats; the Malawi Congress Party (MCP) 48; the People’s Party (PP) of former president Joyce Banda 26; the United Democratic Front (UDF) 14; and one each for the Alliance for Democracy (AFORD) and Chipani Cha Pfuko (CCP).

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Malawi’s social protection programmes on right footing -official

Malawi has made some "remarkable" strides towards meeting recommended social protection measures aimed at providing support and assistance to poor...