SADC applauds Malawi for digital migration

Malawi is among five countries in the Southern Africa Development Cooperation (SADC) region that beat the 17th June 2015 International Telecommunications Union deadline to migrate to Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT) broadcasting.

Lipenga: Information is vital
Digital Migration
Digital Migration

Other countries are Mauritius, Namibia, the United Republic of Tanzania and Zambia.

SADC Executive Secretary Dr Stergomena Lawrence tax said this in her remarks during official opening of the Council of ministers meeting on Friday at the Gaborone International Convention Centre (GICC).

“In the area of ICT commendable progress has been made… in five countries and there is no leakage of analogue signals across,” she said.

Malawi Communication Regulatory Authority (MACRA) director of broadcasting Fergus Lipenga told NyasaTimes in Gaborone that the commendation by SADC is an achievement for Malawi.

Lipenga said since 2010, the Malawi government has been supportive of the digital migration process.

“Malawi will continue to provide affordable set top boxes and upgrading the network by installing more transmitters to ensure the whole country is covered by digital signals by the end of 2015.

“Information is crucial to the socio-economic development of the country,” he said.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
paul Tyme
7 years ago

Making better Malawi-bring it up.

Aubrey Norman
Aubrey Norman
7 years ago

Thats good results to one of the Countries tha are providing good communication to their people interms of migrats

Read previous post:
Malawi star Mwai Kumwenda named player of the Netball World Cup 2015

Malawi’s evergreen shooter Mwai Kumwenda is the queen of the court; she  was on Sunday named the Netball World Cup...