Shake-up in Local Government, DC’s transferred

There has been a minor shake up in the Local Government and Rural Development ministry where four district commissioners and one chief executive officer, amongst others, have been listed for transfers.

A circular, REF. NO. C 61/02/08/VOLII and dated 30 January 2012, which Nyasa Times has seen, a number of senior officers who fall under the ministry are being transferred for unknown reason.

Addressed to district commissioners for Thyolo, Neno, Chikhwawa, Nkhotakota, Chitipa, Mbelwa (Mzimba), Dowa, Machinga and Kasungu districts, and the chief executive officers of Lilongwe City Council, Balaka, Kasungu and Luchenza Town Councils, the circular has been signed by Salim Sumaisi, Controller of Human Resources in the ministry on behalf of the Secretary of Local Government and Rural development.

Minister of Local Government Henry Mussa

It has also been copied to the Executive Secretary of National Local Government Finance Committee Wezi Mjojo.

Nyasa Times investigations have revealed that there are no clear cut reasons given for the transfers as Sumaisi simply writes in the circular, “The exigencies of the service require the immediate posting of the following District Commissioners as follows…”

Ready to face the challenge of cooling down the issue of renaming the Chitipa-Karonga road to Bingu Highway is Felix Mkandawire who was District Commissioner for Chikhwawa.

Mkandawire has been posted to Chitipa and will replace Hamisi Twabi who is heading to Neno to replace Lawford Palani.  The Neno DC has been transferred to Thyolo.

Bester Mandere who was DC for Thyolo has been moved to the eastern region district of Balaka where he replaces Fred Movete as the chief executive officer for the Town Council.

Movete goes to the flood hit district of Chikhwawa to take over from Mkandawire.

Ironically, Salima Town Council which media reports last month revealed that it has two District Commissioners has not been affected with the transfers.

According to the media reports one DC is operating from the official house while the other at the DCs office but housed at a lodge.

According to the circular, other officers who have been affected by the transfers include a Mrs. E P Mumba, director of administration at Kasungu now going to Mbwelwa to replace P. Dokali who has been transferred to Lilongwe.

A Mr J. L. Mambo, Internal Auditor at Rumphi District Council is on his way to Kasungu.

A Human Resources Management Officer at Nkhotakota, Y. Chitete goes to Kasungu on the same post, where Assistant Human Resources Management Officer Ms. T. Milimbo is heading for Dowa.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Atupele wows Zomba crowd: ‘Malawi in deep stress’

Thousands of people in old capital city, Zomba had to brave heavy rainfall on Sunday to attend a public rally...