Tukula to head  ICC: Malawi  Independent Police Complaints  Commission

Parliament’s Public Appointments Committee has appointed Christopher Tukula to head the newly established Independent Complaints Commission (ICC).

Tukula: This is a call to service

Tukula formerly set up and headed the Office of the Director of Public Officers’ Declarations (Adpod) where he recently ran down his contract after serving two-term contracts.

Parliament established the Independent Complaints Commission (ICC) 10 years ago under Section 128 of the Police Act.

Since the passage of the Police Act in 2010, voices as diverse as the Public Appointments Committee (PAC), Centre for Human Rights Education, Advice and Assistance (CHREAA), the Human Rights Defenders Coalition (HRDC), and the Malawi Law Society (MLS) have called for the ICC’s formation.

The ICC’s broad mandate is to collect complaints from the public, initiate and conduct its own investigations, and, if necessary, prosecute officers.

In an interview with Nyasa Times, Tukula said he is humbled by the appointment and is looking forward to serve.

“This is a call to service in a long-awaited and important position in the governance of the country. To have the Public Appointments Committee of Parliament repose their trust and confidence in my capabilities once more, ahead of other equally and respectable professional colleagues, is humbling.

“It is some recognition for my track record and more importantly, it is a rare opportunity for me to renew my commitment to service and a big motivation for me to improve on my previous performance and possibly surpass the expectations of the appointing authority and the Malawian public that I am invited to serve in a different capacity,” he said.

Reacting to the news of Tukula’s appointment, CHREAA, which has long been advocating for the establishment of the ICC noted that this fills a void in holding the Police accountable.

“Malawians deserve an independent agency that can conduct investigations into incidents like the Chisepo rape case (October 2018), the BuleyaLule case (February 2019) and the sexual assaults at Msundwe (October 2019), but also fill in the gaps between the big events. The ICC is needed to hold officers accountable and devote resources to see systemic changes implemented, rather than wait for the next front-page story,” said CHREAA’s executive director Victor Mhango.

He noted that an independent police complaints body is not only about holding police to account, but also about respecting victims’ rights.

“An ICC will allow victims to access justice through an impartial body that will respect their dignity,” he said.

He added that the ICC must be given a mandate to serve the public with accessible offices, a national hotline, and budgeting to get to hard-to-reach populations.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

0 0 vote
Article Rating
19 Comments
newest
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gwamula
Gwamula
1 month ago

Congratulations on your appointment Mr Tukula. One himble plea is, prove your worth at least for once. As Director of the Assets Declarations, theres nothing worthwhile you can point out. Public servants became filthy rich than they were before. Reports were rife of politicians failing to comply with declaring their assets. Nothing was ever done, not even a mere reprimand. This new position presents an opportunity to salvage your record. Alot happens in police, both by officers as well as against officers. If you continue to sit phwiii and just wait to see off your contract after spending tax payers… Read more »

Wanyanga
Wanyanga
1 month ago
Reply to  Gwamula

I remember he asked for Ministers and MPs who failed to declare be fired but the powers didnt fire them.

BigMan
BigMan
1 month ago

He showed no teeth at his previous role where he allowed people to declare bags of maize, wives, clothes and other such crap as their assets. He will be worse when dealing with the police.

Last edited 1 month ago by BigMan
mtete
mtete
1 month ago

Can someone please tell me at least one or two achievements at Assets Declaration? As far as I know he didn’t do anything apart from sending demand or reminder letters. Maybe he was muzzled by the powers that were not to tell. That said, all the best in his new job.

Tuntyufe
Tuntyufe
1 month ago

Congratulations

Blessings
1 month ago

He is genius. Bravo youth

Blessings
1 month ago

UK

National CEO
National CEO
1 month ago

Traffic police officers to smell coffee.

Psyuta
1 month ago

Too many organisations and commissions doing the same things.

Hypocrite Z
1 month ago

At first i thought ‘ICC’ International Criminal Court! ……..i saw the advert…..

President Chisokonezo
1 month ago

Congrats my fellow ex seminarian

Nedi K
Nedi K
1 month ago

President Chisokonezo 🤣🤣🤣Muwamwere anzanuwo.🥂Ifenso mutimeme

Rastaman
Rastaman
1 month ago

why always him mzanuyu? is he a genius?

shares
Read previous post:
Mtambo says Tonse govt to improve Malawi human rights record 

Minister of Civic Education and National Unity, Timothy Mtambo, has assured civil society organisations (CSOs)  and human rights defenders in...

Close