Zodiak’s Tiuzeni Zoona beats Capital’s Straight Talk in Misa awards

The inaugural Talk Show Host of the Year in the 2012 Media Institute of Southern Africa (Misa) Media Awards on Saturday went to Pilirani Phiri, who hosts Tiuzeni Zoona on Zodiak radio beating another favourite Brian Banda who anchors Straight Talk on Capital Radio.

Ironically, Pilirani and Brian were sitting on the same table and the two hugged before Pilirani stood to collect his award.

Chairperson of the panel of judges, Baldwin Chiyamwaka said only Phiri was nominated and received massive votes from the journalists who voted.

Pilirani Phiri: Host of award winning Tizueni Zoona

“This category was through voting by all the journalists. Only one was nominated and received massive votes. And this is Pilirani Phiri,” said Chiyamwaka as Pilirani received a standing ovation.

To cap it all, Pilirani had earlier received two awards for stories on collapsed economy and another one that spoke of how Malawians paid for late President Bingu wa Mutharika’s executive arrogance.

Zodiak Broadcasting Station was voted media house of the year 2012 while seven of its journalists (including Pilirani) also got various awards.

Teresa Ndanga and Winston Mwale won two each while Priscilla Malamula, Steve Zimba, Noel Mkubwi and Stonald Kuphunda got one each.

In the Print Media category, Blantyre Newspapers Limited was voted the best Print media of the year with its journalists scooping the majority of individual awards.

Teresa Chapulapula of Daily Times won the overall winner award with her story on the dubious sale of Malawi Housing Houses at a song.

The Nation newspaper saw its Managing Director Mbumba Atchutan winning the all time achiever award while news analyst Kondwani Munthali won the blogger of the year award.

The winners got prizes ranging from Plasma screens to Samsung Galaxy Tabs.

Mbumba Banda: Lifetime Achiever
Kondwani Munthali: Blogger of the year
Ndanga: Won the award

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
Saenda names 12 in Malawi Queens squad for Dar

Malawi Queens Coach Griffin ‘Zagalo’ Saenda picked 12 players in the squad to play for this year’s Africa netball championship. Title-holders...