Central Region Chess League identifies representatives for Mdina national finals

Candidate Master Petros ‘Razorblade’ Mfune lead four others as regional ambassadors for Malawi’s Central Region when became champion in the Mpilo Chess Challenge organised by the Central Region Chess League (CRCL) which was uses as qualifiers for the Mdina National finals scheduled for this month in Mzuzu.

Maine (right) receives cash prize from Mizere

He outwitted 20 other chess contestants at Kamuzu Institute for Sports on Sunday and the four others joining him for the Mdina national finals are top player Dave Mawango, who finished as runner-up, veteran Aaron Phiri on third place, Dan Maliro, Bob Banda, George Mwale, Shadreck Mhone and Richard Matundu.

According to CRCL publicist, Alfred Chimthere, Mfune, accumulated 5.5 points after winning four games and drawing three in a seven round Swiss pairing format and a 50 minute time control per player for a game.

Mawango came second with 5 points, tying with veteran Aaron Phiri but were separated using the Bulcholz tie-breaking system.

The three players walked away with MK50,000, MK30,000 and MK20,000 cash prizes respectively, courtesy of former chess player and now sponsor Mpilo Mizere.

Dan Maliro and Bob Banda also tied on 4.5 points while George Mwale, Shadreck Mhone, and Richard Matundu accumulated 4 points each.

Speaking during the presentation ceremony, Mpilo expressed his commitment to motivate more youths to play chess.

He said that he was compelled to assist CRCL when he was approached, in order to set a gesture worth emulating by other sponsors.

CRCL chairman Moses Mtumbuka hailed Mpilo for coming to the rescue of the league with the sponsorship and encouraged the two ladies Vitumbiko Gondwe and Beatrice Longwe who took part in the competition to continue doing so to inspire other ladies.

The two will participate in the ladies section at the Mdina finals in Mzuzu where foreign players are also expected to participate.

The Southern Region will be represented by Candidate Master Xavier Joseph Nyambalo, FM Gerald Mphungu, Peter Jyloss, John Mkumba, Hubert Nanthambw, Chikondi Khechi, Robert Kambale and Phillip Kamowatimwa while the hosts NRCL are yet to hold their qualifiers.

Other platers who have automatically qualified are Joseph Mwale, CM Chiletso Chipanga and Stanford Chiwambo.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
Read previous post:
TNM maintains 25% discount on e-tickets for Blantyre derby

As all roads lead to Bingu National Stadium on Sunday for Blantyre derby league sponsors TNM, have maintained their 25...