Ernest Mtawali named to join African legends for E. Guinea’s 50th independence anniversary match

Malawi’s football legend, Ernest Chirwali Mtawali has been named together other African stars such as Cameroonians Rigobert Song and Francois Oman Biyik, Nigerian Daniel Amokachi and South African Doctor Khumalo to join the government of Equatorial Guinea, in collaboration with the country’s football federation, to a football match as part of events to mark the 50th independence anniversary celebration of the former Spanish colony.

Mtawali: Included in the team

According to a report on posted on  September 15 2018 by Lesley Angu, Mtawali has been selected for playing for French side, Toulouse FC.

The other former African football stars are from Nigeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Senegal, South Africa and Coye d’Ivoire and will all converge in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea on the 10 October 2018 for a gala football  game.

“The super stars [are those] who played football at the highest level and achieved undisputable success like former Liverpool Star and 2 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) winner Rigobert Song; former Everton wonder working forward and 1994 AFCON winner Daniel Amokachi plus 1988 AFCON winner Francois Oman Biyik and Geremi Njitap; holder of 2 UEFA Champions league and AFCON winners medal will all be a part of the unprecedented event,” the report says.

“The game, to take place in the Guinean Capital, will see the stars from the giant African nations square up against ex Equatorial Guinea internationals as the country celebrates 50 years of independence.”

Mtawali confirmed having received the invitation, saying it is such an honor to be recognized this way.

“It is always an honor to be amongst African legends. I really appreciate the recognition because such honor doesn’t come easy,” said the Malawian legend, nicknamed ‘Wire’.

The full list of invited legends are:

Abdoulaye Traore (1992 AFCON winner)

Joseph Antoine Bell (1984 & 1998 AFCON winner)

Rigobert Song Bahanag (2000 & 2002 AFCON winner)

Jacques Songo’o (1988 AFCON winner)

Pierre Wome (2000 & 2002 AFCON winner)

Geremi Njitap (2000 & 2002 AFCON winner)

Doctor Khumalo (1994 AFCON winner)

Ernest Chirwali Mtawali (Former Toulouse FC midfielder)

Daniel Amokachi (1994 AFCON winner)

Garbage Lawal (1997 CAF champions winner)

Francois Omam Biyik (1988 AFCON winner)

Cyrillic Makanaky (1988 AFCON winner)

Eugene Ekeke (1988 AFCON winner)

Joseph Desire Job (2000 AFCON winner)

Timothee Atouba (2000 AFCON winner)

Jean Claude Pagal (1990 World cup quarter-finalist)

Roudolphe Douala Mbela (2005 UEFA cup finalist with Sporting CP)

Kingsley Amunike (1994 AFCON winner)

“Such a collection of stars on a great day in the history of a great nation only portrays the love for the beautiful game the leader of country president, Obiang Nguema and other football authorities have,” reports Lesley Angu on

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Wow congrax Ernest

3 years ago

Where is Walter Nyamilandu here,paja he claims to have played soccer at the highest levelevel.idiot!!

Read previous post:
FAM announces Carlsberg Cup quarter venues

Football Association of Malawi (FAM) on Friday released venues for the prestigious Carlsberg Cup Quarter finals Blantyre, Lilongwe and Balaka...