Malawi election Commissioner Simwaka resigns

One of the 10 commissioners at the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) Dr Bertha Simwaka has resigned from her position, the electoral body has announced.

The commission, in a media statement, said President Joyce Banda has since acknowledged the resignation in accordance with Section 4(3) of the Electoral Commission Act.

“The Malawi Electoral Commission is informing the general public that Dr Bertha Simwaka has resigned with immediate effect as Commissioner,” says MEC in its statement signed by Chief Elections Officer, Willie Kalonga.

However, MEC could not elaborate on the reasons why Dr Simwaka has resigned saying she “has resigned on her own accord.”

Simwaka: Resigns
Simwaka: Resigns

Dr Simwaka, a Public Health Specialist, was appointed Commissioner on May 19, 2012 by President Banda alongside nine others.

According to Kalonga, during her term as a Commissioner, Dr Simwaka served as member of the Media, Civic and Voter Education Committee as well as the Audit Committee.

“Dr Simwaka also played a key role in the formulation of the Strategic Plan which was launched on June 14, 2013. The Commission wishes Dr Simwaka all the best in her new endeavours,” said Kalonga in the statement issued Sunday.

Other commissioners include Rev Allan Chiphiko, former Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Spokesperson and Lilongwe City legislator Nancy Tembo, Bishop Bernard Malango of Anglican Church, Rev Mezuwa Banda of the Livingstonia Synod of the CCAP, former United Democratic Front (UDF) Mulanje Bale Parliamentarian  Elvy Mtafu, Dr. Wellington Nakanga, governing People’s Party (PP) executive officials  Rev Emmanuel Chimkwita Phiri and Gloria Chingota, and former Maravi People’s Party member Stanley Biliati.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Irate Muslims beat up Malawi Minister Jooma in Mangochi: Confiscate MBCTtv camera

Irate Muslims in Malawi’s Muslim dominated district of Mangochi have beaten up Minister of Economic Planning, Ralph Jooma for directing...