Malawi Parliament: MPs dump ruling PP to rejoin DPP

Malawi’s ruling People’s Party of President Joyce Banda continues to lose parliamentary strength during the 44th midterm budget review meeting, which is underway at the parliament building in Lilongwe.

The House has so far seen the relocation of five parliamentarians to opposition side.

Speaker of the National Assembly Henry Chimunthu Banda announced that the Controversial Thyolo Thava Member of Parliament Lilfred Nawena (Independent) has joined Malawi’s former ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP).

The announcement follows four other law makers who on Monday also wrote and asked the Speaker to give them seats in the opposition benches after rejoining the DPP.

Liwimbi: Returns to DPP
Liwimbi: Returns to DPP

They include Thyolo legislature Charles Mchacha, who dumped DPP to join the ruling People’s Party after the sudden death of former president late Bingu wa Mutharika.

Other three legislators also wrote the Speaker to give them seats in the opposition benches after joining the DPP. They are former Minister of Tourism in the first PP Cabinet Daniel Liwimbi, Chikhwawa North’s Grain Malunga, who was also Energy minister during the DPP government, and Blantyre West MP Wells Gama.

As of Friday, when President Joyce Banda opened the meeting, the government side had almost 80 seats against the opposition’s 110.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Karonga women fight for their rights

Women in Malawi’s northern district of Karonga are taking a bold step towards reducing violence against women and girls which is...