MCP numbers in Parliament rise to 52

Malawi Congress Party (MCP) strength in the National Assembly has increased from 48 who were elected on the party’s ticket on May 20 to 52 after four independent MPs moved to their benches.

The four include MCP deputy legal affairs director Lewsi Chakwantha, (Lilongwe south west), Peter Dimba (Lilongwe south), Elias Chakwera (Dowa Ngala) and Divelius Zaipa (Mchinji south).

Chakwantha (L) welcomed back by Chakwera
Chakwantha (L) welcomed back by Chakwera

MCP, however, said the number will rise as some independent MPs have expressed interest to move to the party benches.

Meanwhile, MCP whose president Lazarus Chakwera hold leader of opposition title and its vice president Richard Msowoya was elected Speaker, has settled for Lilongwe Central MP Lobin Lowe as chief whip to be deputised by Dedza South MP Clement Mlombwa.

The Chakwera led party has said time for parliament to be enacting ‘bad laws’ is over and the party has since vowed to champion laws which are in the best interest of Malawians.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Sharing is caring!

Follow us in Twitter
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Read previous post:
Here comes the bride: Malawi First Lady Gertrude

President Peter Mutharika and Gertrude Maseko are  set to become husband and wife this Saturday and the bride has said...