Mutharika appoints Escom board members: Economist Perks Ligoya is chair

President Peter Mutharika has appointed board members of the troubled Electricity Supply Corporation of Malawi (Escom) with economist Perks Ligoya as its board chairperson.

Ligoya: Appointed chair of Escom

According to a statement by chief secretary to government Lloyd Muhara, Ligoya therefore ceases to be chairperson of Malawi Enterprise Development Fund (Medef) with immediate effect.

Other members of the Escom board appointed by the President include Professor Grant Kalulanga, Chikumbutso Mkwamba, Chikumbutso Kalilombe, Pastor Tony Nyirenda, Shrieesh Betrin and Victoria Mponela.

Muhara said the President has also appointed ex-officio members who included Ministry of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining chief director; Ministry of Finance, Economic Planning and Development budget director and Department of Statutory Corporations chief economist.

According to Muhara, the appointments are with effect from April 1, 2017.

Follow and Subscribe Nyasa TV :

Please share this Article if you like Email This Post Email This Post

More From the World

newest oldest most voted
Notify of
nanyati nanyati

These appointments are backed by the HOLY BIBLE, hence nothing wrong. Even Yesu said ” How can I feed gentiles first before I have feed the house of Israel? “. This is far much better and mild than what Chakufwa Chihana ( RIP ) did when he was minister of water; from the cleaner up to the PS were akwithu\ northerners. Long live Peter long live genuine democracy!!


Guys, you mean a lomwe is no more qualified for positions in government? Mmmmm! if one has the right qualifications, let him be hired to do the work.

lindokuhle mbatha

lomwelization at its best, nyasalande sadzathekanso!!!!!!

Chaponda Mbala

koma nde kulipezelera dziko alomwe eish


Zako zimenezo iyisovenge.

More From Nyasatimes